Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Apple Cider Sangria

3 Comments

Necessity is the mother of invention.

The husband asked for sangria to go with our Samhain dinner.  When I asked him whether he wanted mulled wine or sangria, I was at the grocery store, so I shopped from memory.  I remembered there being apples.  Were there lemons?  Limes?  I already had oranges and Grand Marnier at home.  Other than that I planned on picking up a bottle of Five Rivers wine to round out what I figured I needed for my standard sangria recipe.

Oops!

When it came time to make sangria yesterday I discovered that I was missing more than a few ingredients, but most notably the brandy.  Not one to let a minor detail like that stop me, I decided to just wing it, and that’s when I saw the jug of apple cider from our last trip to the apple orchard.  Is there such a thing as sangria with apple cider?
There is, and it looks really tasty, but I had red wine not white and did I mention already that I was out of brandy?  Remember what I said about not letting minor (though I suppose some would say major) details curtail my plans?  Naturally, I pressed on ahead.  One of these days I’ll get back to the Apple Cider Sangria recipe from How Sweet It Is that inspired this here one.  In the meantime?  This one is mighty tasty.

Apple Cider Sangria

Adapted from How Sweet It Is

Ingredients:

1 bottle cabernet sauvignon (standard size, I used Five Rivers)

2 1/2 cups apple cider

1/2 cup Grand Marnier

1 apple, chopped

1 orange (with peel still on), chopped

lemon-lime soda to taste (I used diet store brand)

Directions:

1.  In a half-gallon mason jar, combine wine, apple cider, and Grand Marnier.  Stir to combine.

2.  Add in fruit and give a quick stir.

3.  Refrigerate for 2 hours or overnight to let flavors mix.

4.  To serve, pour desired amount of wine mixture in a glass and top off with lemon-lime soda.  Want it stronger?  Less soda.  Bit of a lightweight?  More soda.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 188 other followers