Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Walking Experiments

After racking up almost 40 miles we had to make an abrupt halt in our walking plans due to the intense pain in my feet. I made an appointment a few weeks ago with the local podiatrist, but couldn’t get in until Tuesday this week. The good news? There’s something that can be done.

I suspected plantar fasciitis and given the description of the pain he agreed. I have high arches and had bought an insole that was supposed to give me better arch support. The doc said it was a step in the right direction, but that I’d need something with a bit more support. He was really good at explaining things and showing me what wasn’t right about the insoles I have.

While it’s possible that I may have a heel spur, it’s probably fairly small and he’d treat me the same regardless so no need for x-rays (thankfully). There are some other options like physical therapy and cortisone injections, but we’re going to start with a mechanical solution first. So, since my appointment on Tuesday I’ve had my food taped up with a pad added in for my arch. I can’t get it wet (plastic bag in the shower anyone) and am supposed to give this a try for four or five days. I noticed a fairly large difference right away between my feet. I still had mild pain in my left heel, but none whatsoever in my right heel. Then, on Monday I’m supposed to take it off and see how it feels – does it solve the issue or without the support does it get worse? And if it gets worse – how quickly does it happen?

I want to head out on a walk – not as long as the library, but further than the mall – and see how it goes. What a journey!

Comments are closed.