Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Garden Harvest Update (as of 8/3/10)

6 Comments

These fine onions are not included in the totals below as I didn’t get around to weighing them just yet. I’m also short a harvest in these totals. Why? Well…remember the “dog ate my homework excuse?” It’s sort of like that – except in my case it’s that the baby ate it. Miss M somehow got ahold of the paper it was written on. She thinks that paper is mighty tasty. By the time I got it from her it was in little pieces and completely illegible. The moral of the story?  Encourage my husband to write the harvest weights on something larger than the back of a receipt.  The real bummer here is that we had our very first big tomatillo harvest.

Garden Harvest Update (as of 7/25/10)

Lettuce 5lbs
Carrots 19lbs 14oz
Broccoli 15oz
Chinese Cabbage 4oz
Peas 7lbs 6oz (possibly final numbers unless we get a Fall crop and almost 3lbs more than last year!)
Green Beans 12lbs 10oz
Spinach/Swiss Chard/Beet Greens 4lb 13oz
Onions 6lb 8oz (this figure is probably short a few)
Zucchini 2lbs 13oz (this is short a few ounces)
Cucumbers 14lb 10oz
Eggplant 2lb 2oz
Beets 4lb 7oz
Tomatoes 11lb 2oz
Potatoes 2lbs
Tomatillos 1lb 4oz
Hot Peppers 2oz
Sweet Peppers 1oz

Total: 95 lbs  15 oz
Last Year’s End of the Year Total

Last year’s harvest tally from around this time of year can be found here.  Things in the garden this year aren’t looking nearly as nice as they did last year.  In fact…the tomato plants look pitiful and my squashes/zucchini/loofa are looking just as bad.  The only bright light in the whole bit?  There are several vibrant volunteer tomato plants in the compost bin.  You’re not “supposed” to do that because of diseases.  The irony of the fact that the tomatoes growing there look 1000 times better than the ones planted in”proper” garden beds has not been lost on me.  I’m going to try to get some pictures of them to post next week.  This is also reason number 1000 that I’m about ready to stop growing tomatoes altogether.  They’re supposed to be so easy and yet we’ve had nothing but difficulties.  There’s a local botanical gardens that sells heirloom plants in the Spring.  We’re going to buy ours there next year as a last attempt at doing so.  If they turn out the same way I’ve resolved to start trying to figure out how to substitute tomatillos in their place.

I’m a little late on this one…but if you want to see more you can head on over to Harvest Monday at Daphne’s Dandelions!

Oh, and I should also probably mention that we garden for two families (4 adults and three children) so we split the harvest.

6 thoughts on “Garden Harvest Update (as of 8/3/10)

  1. Oh how sad. Do you remember at all what the weight was? I had my big tomatillo harvest yesterday. I stripped all the ones with their husks burst open. I hope to make salsa verde soon. I keep my harvests on the fridge on a form that I print out. Otherwise I would lose it. But I still remember that weight (or approx). I usually don’t, but it was a big one.

    • I wish I did. My husband took care of weighing everything that day to be helpful. I was probably taking care of Baby M at the time. If I had done the weighing I probably would have remembered. Oh well!

  2. Your onions do look mighty fine!

  3. Those onions look great!