Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Garden Harvest Update (as of 8/9/10)

10 Comments

Garden Harvest Update (as of 8/9/10)

Lettuce 5lbs
Carrots 19lbs 14oz
Broccoli 1lb 4oz
Chinese Cabbage 4oz
Peas 7lbs 6oz (possibly final numbers unless we get a Fall crop and almost 3lbs more than last year!)
Green Beans 17lbs 8oz
Spinach/Swiss Chard/Beet Greens 5lb 5oz
Onions 18lb (this figure is probably short a few)
Zucchini 3lbs 1oz (this is short a few ounces)
Cucumbers 26lb 9oz
Eggplant 4lb
Beets 5lb 7oz
Tomatoes 37lb 10oz
Potatoes 5lbs 6oz
Tomatillos 6lb 2oz
Hot Peppers 9oz
Sweet Peppers 1oz

Total: 163 lbs  6 oz
Last Year’s End of the Year Total

Last year’s harvest tally from around this time of year can be found here.  I’m in a rush to get this one up.  So far we’ve bested last year’s harvest by 64lbs.  I’m not going to count my chickens before their hatched, though.  I’m cautiously optimistic that we’re at least on track to meet the same harvest total as last year – we don’t have a second crop of carrots in the ground, the cucumbers are looking a bit sad as are the tomatoes so it’s really anybody’s best guess as to how it will all turn out.  We’re definitely planning on purchasing tomatoes this year from an organic farm that sells seconds at $1/lb so that we can put up ketchup, spaghetti sauce, and barbecue sauce.

If you want to see more you can head on over to Harvest Monday at Daphne’s Dandelions!

Oh, and I should also probably mention that we garden for two families (4 adults and three children) so we split the harvest.

10 thoughts on “Garden Harvest Update (as of 8/9/10)

  1. Your onions are beautiful. And that’s an impressive harvest in my book!

  2. Boy, you have nice onions too!! I have onion envy.

    • Thank you! This is our first year growing onions. Now that I’ve tasted a garden onion I can’t say as I’d ever go back to buying them at the store. The only problem is I don’t think we grew enough this year!

  3. You have a great variety of onions here, and they all look pretty big! Did you grow them from plants, sets or seeds? I’m trying to learn from others to see what would work best. I planted some sets this year, but I think I planted them too late – the bulbs haven’t sized up very much.

    • We have a mixture of onions from sets and seeds. We bought the sets because we thought our seedlings looked pretty pitiful. In the end I think we like the ones from seed better. They had a much more hefty root system. We still have onions in the garden actually. We’ve harvested some here and there for fresh eating, but waited until the tops had mostly yellowed before pulling any for storage. Some of the ones that started from sets stayed pretty small. Same is true for the ones from seed, although their tops are still really green in the garden.

  4. I was just reading your reply to Thyme2garden. And it is same thing wth my onions. I can’t say which ones performed better. I think it will come down to which ones will keep better.

    • Oh, most definitely. I suppose that’s what really matters in the end. If they look fantastic at the beginning, but don’t last long enough to be able to use them then that’s certainly more frustrating.

  5. Love the onions hanging up. I wanted to do something like that this year, but all my onions were only 1-2″ wide. So tiny.

    • Definitely tiny! Although, some of ours are probably about the same size. My husband took all of their greens and braided them together into groups of three before he hung them up. Definitely his brain child. :0)