Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Garden Harvest Update (as of 8/15/10)

10 Comments

Lettuce 5lbs
Carrots 19lbs 14oz
Broccoli 1lb 4oz
Chinese Cabbage 4oz
Peas 7lbs 6oz (possibly final numbers unless we get a Fall crop and almost 3lbs more than last year!)
Green Beans 17lbs 8oz
Spinach/Swiss Chard/Beet Greens 5lb 5oz
Onions 24lb (this figure is probably short a few)
Zucchini 3lbs 5oz (this is short a few ounces)
Cucumbers 32lb 9oz
Eggplant 5lb
Beets 5lb 7oz
Tomatoes 47lb 2oz
Potatoes 5lbs 6oz
Tomatillos 6lb 8oz
Hot Peppers 9oz
Sweet Peppers 1lb 9oz
Pie Pumpkin 6lbs 12oz
Corn 1lb 3oz

Total: 195 lbs  15 oz
Last Year’s End of the Year Total

Last year’s harvest tally from around this time of year can be found here.  I’m in a rush to get this one up.  I have a date with the garden and the canner today.  More tomatoes hopefully for a batch of spaghetti sauce.  So far we have 8 pints of salsa and a bunch of BBQ sauce in the works.

If you want to see more you can head on over to Harvest Monday at Daphne’s Dandelions!

Oh, and I should also probably mention that we garden for two families (4 adults and three children) so we split the harvest.

10 thoughts on “Garden Harvest Update (as of 8/15/10)

  1. 195 pounds harvested so far! Impressive.

  2. What a bounty in your garden!

  3. What have you been doing with all those cukes, are they pickling?

    • Yup! They’re all pickling cucumbers which we then preserve via lacto-fermentation. I use the recipe in “Wild Fermetation” by Sandor Katz combined with Rodale’s whole pickling spice recipe from “Stocking Up III.” This is our first year preserving the cucumbers with the pickling spices and they are by far the best ones yet!!

  4. Nice harvests so far. I wish I had some pumpkins this year. I’ll have to buy them at the farmers market.

    • I wish we had more pumpkins. They were very small (not sure if that’s specific to the seed type) and the plants didn’t seem to hold up very well. I’m actually surprised that they’re ripe already. I’m wondering if that’s just part of this weird growing season.

  5. Hey, I need that secular homeschool button. Fun stuff. Harvest looking good.