Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Garden Harvest Update (as of 8/30/10)

10 Comments

Garden Harvest Update (as of 8/30/10)

Lettuce 5lbs
Carrots 19lbs 14oz
Broccoli 1lb 4oz
Chinese Cabbage 4oz
Peas 7lbs 6oz (possibly final numbers unless we get a Fall crop and almost 3lbs more than last year!)
Green Beans 24lbs 11oz
Spinach/Swiss Chard/Beet Greens 11lb 8oz
Onions 35lb 7oz (this figure is probably short a few)
Zucchini 4lbs (this is short a few ounces)
Cucumbers 49lb 3oz
Eggplant 7lb 3 oz
Beets 11lb 11oz
Tomatoes 82lb 1oz (1oz of which came from our volunteer compost bin plant)
Potatoes 5lbs 6oz
Tomatillos 22lbs 11oz
Hot Peppers 1lb 8oz
Sweet Peppers 3lb 7oz
Pie Pumpkin 6lbs 12oz
Corn 2lb 10oz
Ground Cherries 12oz
Wonderberries 7oz

Total: 305 lbs  1 oz
Last Year’s End of the Year Total

Last year’s harvest tally from around this time of year can be found here.  My husband pulled the cucumber plants at my request.  I know we won’t nearly have enough of them fermented and stored for the winter, but that late season garden fatigue is setting in.  I’m just plain done with processing things.  Given that the vines were looking less than lackluster I thought it seemed appropriate to pull them from the garden.  The corn is also done – though I have to say not a bit of it was really edible, but I’m still keeping it in the tally above.  We also pulled the last of the onions yesterday which made all of us quite sad.  We’ve been enjoying the onions from the garden and we haven’t nearly enough of them to last more than a couple of weeks.  My motto for next year?  MORE ONIONS!!  Yes..just like that and in all capitals.  Ever since growing my own in the garden I’ve discovered that nothing quite compares.  All onions I buy from the store will pale in comparison.

I put up three and a half pints of ketchup last week and have already started the process with 12lbs of tomatoes.  I have another twelve or so pounds to tackle today.  I’ll probably just get them simmered enough to run them through the food mill and stop there for another cooler day.  It’s certainly much easier than trying to find out how to store all of those perishable fruits.

Most importantly, on the docket for today is an experiment.  I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned before, but I hate growing tomatoes.  Everyone always talks about how easy they are, but my experience couldn’t be further from the truth (unless we’re talking about a volunteer in the compost bin).  I find them fussy little prima donnas from the get go.  The tomatillos on the other hand?  To quote the Vicars of Vegetables, “I’d go to war for a tomatillo.”  The plant, that is when under attack by some sort of garden malady.  For me, the tomatillo plant is everything promised by others about tomatoes and more.  It’s hardy and fruits prolifically.  Which begs the question – given that they share the same plant family (and name for that matter) is it possible that I could use the tomatillo in place of the tomato in some of our favorite recipes?  Aside from the color difference, what would a tomatillo based spaghetti sauce taste like?  I’m going to make a small batch  – enough for dinner – just to see.

If my experiment is unsuccessful I’ve decided on two options.  The first is to plant tomatoes again next year, but to buy them at the plant sale and stake them vertically in some way.  The second option is to reconsider our diet.  Aside from perhaps one tomato plant for slicing during the summer might we instead find other ways of eating?

If you want to see more you can head on over to Harvest Monday at Daphne’s Dandelions!

Oh, and I should also mention that we garden for two families (4 adults and three children) so we split the harvest.  The items above in italics are  final tallies for the year.

10 thoughts on “Garden Harvest Update (as of 8/30/10)

  1. I’m with you on the homegrown onions, they are so much better!

    • I know! You always hear about homegrown tomatoes, but I’ve never heard anyone wax poetic on a homegrown onion! The ones I grow at home and the ones in the store really are worlds apart.

  2. only bad part about wonderful homegrown onions is that they make me cry like crazy! But that’s a small price to pay for things so tasty.

  3. This is only my first year growing tomatoes, along with everything else, and I think that anything that requires a trellis or a support of some sort is a lot more work than plants that grow on their own. So I totally hear you on tomatoes! I didn’t grow any tomatillos, but maybe I should try some next year. Do those plants grow just like tomatoes and require support? Please let me know how your tomatillo spaghetti sauce experiment turns out! I’m even adding your blog to my Google Reader so I don’t miss any important experiment results from you. 🙂

    • I highly suggest giving tomatillos a try. They’re great in salsa verde, chili verde, etc, etc. I particularly enjoy them in salsa after I’ve roasted them and the peppers on the grill. A little lime, onion, garlic, salt, pepper, and cilantro. Oh my!

      I won’t have an update tomorrow as I haven’t been able to take any pictures, but I’m hoping to have something up the day after. My results were…mixed. I’m game to give it another try, though! Thanks for stopping by!

  4. For some reason I just can’t grow onions. I’ll have to learn.

    • I wish I had some sage advice for you. Unfortunately we just planted seeds and sets and let them go with very little interaction on our part until harvest. I’ll take the crops like that…where you plant them and they have very few issues! :0)

  5. I think tomatoes are one of the hardest to grow plants in the garden. It is never on my easy list for new gardeners. And I suggest cherry tomatoes as being much easier. Those big slicers can be finicky at times and catch every disease known to man and are chewed on by insects too. You really can’t beat them for fresh taste though.

  6. Pingback: The Experiment: Tomatillo Spaghetti Sauce (Round 1) « Under the Maple Canopy