Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

September Begins

I’m still having a hard time wrapping my mind around the fact that today marks the first day of September.  So much of the year is already behind us which seems so very hard to believe.  I shouldn’t be all that surprised given that the march of the year has followed this little lady.  Nine months isn’t all that significant a period of time and yet it seems like so much longer than that.

September brings with is so many memories.  You know, the good kind like the smell of freshly sharpened pencils or scotch tape.  I’m beginning to welcome the thought of cooler and crisper weather.  I’m also beginning to welcome the end of the growing season.  Like all things summer related there are tiny little pockets of regret.  Maybe one year I’ll be able to seize the moment more fully, but for now it seems as if summer slips away faster than I anticipate.

Even though the public schools started today, the last couple of days have been a good reminder that summer hasn’t given up just yet.  Now…if I can just figure out this tomatillo spaghetti sauce thing.  Stay tuned for tomorrow!

Comments are closed.