Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Privilege

For instance it is hard to advance a truthful theology of suffering when we are the ones forcing others to suffer. In our country where some Christians say they are being persecuted if a salesperson says “happy holidays” instead of “Merry Christmas,” we often lack even the most basic point of reference for understanding how people from different cultural settings who’ve lived through oppression and grief approach their faith.

Julie Clawson wrote the above quote this past week as she talked about the need for post-colonial conversations like the one taking place in Georgia this November. If I lived in Georgia (or at least lived closer) it would be hard for me to pass up on this one. I find these sorts of discussions as a much needed way to clear some of the static one encounters on a regular basis in our country. Potent reminders that while we have come so far, we still have a long way to go.

Be sure to read the rest of Julie’s article. I found it uncomfortable as it reminds me of the daily struggle to remember the privilege with which I am surrounded and yet fully resonant with what I know deep inside must absolutely take place.

Comments are closed.