Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

On the Road Again…


On paper that is.  My Mom got this map in a mailing from the Sierra Club.  She only briefly considered throwing it out until she decided that perhaps the kids might like it.  She knows Funny Man has an abiding love for maps of all shapes and sizes.  When he was just a toddler, we lived a couple of hours away from my parents.  They often volunteered to have him come visit them.  My Dad had business up near us so we’d arrange to meet him.  We’d transfer Funny Man’s belongings and his carseat to my Dad’s car.  I don’t think he could have been more than 15 months old at the time.  Once his seat was in the car he was always quick to follow.  We’d strap him in and say our teary goodbyes – except I was the only one crying.  He’d already have the laminated map in hand and be focused on the journey ahead.  Mom?  What Mom?  I’m going with my Buppa and I’ve got a map!  What more could a little boy ask for?

Funny Man has spent hours pouring over this map.  He’s inspected it carefully with his magnifying glass and traced the roads on it with his fingers.  From my understanding the Lego Man from his delivery truck is busy traveling the roads, returning home, and heading out again.  “Mom, where do we live again?  My Lego guy needs to get home.”

Comments are closed.