Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Currently Reading – “The Grapes of Wrath”

2 Comments

The title is a bit misleading.  I don’t know that I’ve ever just read one book at a time.  I tend to have multiple books with bookmarks in them at various stages of completion.  I like to have a number of different choices for when the mood strikes me.  This is one of those books that I’m not so sure how it is that I’ve made it to this point in my life without ever picking it up.

So far?  I’m loving it.

2 thoughts on “Currently Reading – “The Grapes of Wrath”

  1. I tried reading that book several times when I was in highschool. Never finished it. . .I think because it is quite long. I would love to read it now. I have also ordered the movie on Netflicks! 🙂

    • I highly recommend reading it. I’ve found myself easily taken up with it. I think sometimes the challenge with the book is that it alternates chapters between the action of the main plot of the book and another chapter that plays out some sort of internal dialogue as a prelude to the next chapter…if that makes sense. Steinbeck writes in a voice that comes easily for me, so your mileage may vary.

      I think “The Grapes of Wrath” has quite a bit to say about our present times…especially as it seems that so many are intent on removing every bit of the foundation laid after the Depression.