Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Staring a New Math Unit

2 Comments

Last week, we finished up the Singapore 1A unit on ordinal numbers. I briefly considered skipping ahead a couple of units to the one on measurement since the Funny Man is currently obsessed with his tape measure. In the end I decided to keep going in order which meant today we started the unit on counting to 20. We made it through the first section of the unit in the textbook and the first exercise before he really got the hang of it. By the end of our lesson he wanted to keep going. I suspect that we would have, too, if lunch hadn’t been ready.

2 thoughts on “Staring a New Math Unit

  1. I think it’s really neat that I get to watch what he is learning. This never happened when you were in school.

    • I’m glad you enjoy tracking along with us! :0) I do have a certain advantage in knowing what he’s learning. I don’t have to rely upon getting an answer to the “What did you do in school today?” question. I have to give him credit, though, when I ask him what he did in his outside classes he typically answer, “Lots of stuff. We were busy.”