Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

A Nifty Little Health Insurance Reform Law Video

I know that there are some out there who are still a bit confused about the Health Insurance Reform bill. I know it’s commonly referred to as the Health Care Reform bill, but really the main reforms are focused on the insurance piece of the puzzle so I prefer to refer to it this way – I think it’s more accurate.

I have mixed feelings about the bill. I’m solidly in the camp of those who believe that the law didn’t go nearly far enough. You are welcome to disagree with me, but after struggling for a number of years either to pay our medical bills or prioritizing the items in our budget in order to seek basic preventative care, including a brief stint in a High Deductible Health Plan, I welcome any reforms that will go towards making health care a basic human right. Something, by the way, that the 1948 General Assembly of the United Nations agreed with when they passed the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

There are some ways that our family will be negatively impacted by the law. I believe our plan is considered a “Cadillac” plan which means our family, at least as it stands today, will be subject to the tax on those plans in 2014. The fact that our plan will no longer be grandfathered in and will allow us to seek preventative care for both of us and *all* of our children (our plan does not cover preventative care for children over the age of 4) without cost sharing requirements will certainly help a bit.  If this means that more people are covered, that people can seek medical treatment when they need it, and that no one needs to go into bankruptcy because of their medical bills, I’m even more willing to pay the additional taxes.

In the interests of helping to clear up some confusion about the bill, I thought I’d share a video from the Kaiser Family Foundation:

Comments are closed.