Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

It Gets Better and The Trevor Project

My three children are all napping today, can you tell?  They’re all fighting off a bit of a cold and were in desperate need of some more sleep.   I’m taking advantage of that pause today to catch up on sharing a few things that have been sitting on my list.

This one is a bit of a follow-up to my post yesterday. I thought that instead of talking about the made up crisis of “gender sterilization,” it might be helpful to share one of the resources out there for crisis and suicide prevention services to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and questioning (LGBTQ) youth. It’s an organization called The Trevor Project.

I suspect that most people have probably heard about The Trevor Project, but I didn’t want to post what I did yesterday without specifically acknowledging their organization in this space. The Trevor Project and the It Gets Better Project have a series of videos on the web so that people from all over can “create a personal way for supporters everywhere to tell LGBT youth that, yes, it does indeed get better.

I thought I’d share one of those videos with you today, mostly because it’s from Apple…and…well…you know my love for Apple!  (President Obama has a video, too.)

You (Yes, you, even if you’re “straight” for all that label is worth) can take the pledge over on the It Gets Better Project website to affirm that:

Everyone deserves to be respected for who they are. I pledge to spread this message to my friends, family and neighbors. I’ll speak up against hate and intolerance whenever I see it, at school and at work. I’ll provide hope for lesbian, gay, bi, trans and other bullied teens by letting them know that “It Gets Better.”

Here’s to the hope that one day, the world my children live in, will require far less of this sort of thing. That is, if those in power aren’t able to take us that far backwards. I can always hope, right?

Comments are closed.