Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

On Why I’m Not Rejoicing in the Death of Another

I must admit, I’ve been saddened and more than a little annoyed over the focus our country has taken in the past week. I’ve skipped through “The Daily Show” (one of my favorites) and avoided the discussions of some kind of cathartic release we’re all supposed to be experiencing. I can’t help but wonder how the death of someone…even the most terrible or despicable someone of all time (or just of our time) will do anything to undo what that person has done.

I’ve avoided posting on it, partially because I hate trolls and partially because felt a bit at a loss. What to say on why I find this permutation of “justice” so foreign? Then, I came across this quote which seemed to handle the issue quite nicely:

‎I mourn the loss of thousands of precious lives, but I will not rejoice in the death of one, not even an enemy. Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.

~ Martin Luther King Jr

Comments are closed.