Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Then and Now

The “sanctity of life” as it relates to reproductive choices

I’m not sure I need to explain this one much further than this. I think the standard pro-“life” (as it were) position is pretty clear. It may be a bit surprising, to learn, though that my thoughts on this issue began to change back in my Fundie days when faced with the realities of what the “life begins at conception” idea actually mean for the ideas of heaven, hell, and salvation. I think it was far easier to maintain this belief in the days of delayed pregnancy discovery. Simply put, more women know that they are pregnant far earlier in their pregnancy than ever before. Why is it, again, that we have to stick with earlier understandings of life and science? What’s so bad about changing our understanding to reflect the reality as we know it today….not one hundred years ago or earlier?

These days? After having been pregnant three times, undergoing a cesarean section with one and an unplanned pregnancy with another, I am firmly pro-choice. That last one – our surprise baby? That one knocked me flat on my ass and I’ve struggled to recover since. I don’t know that I’ve found solid footing even today – and my husband has a decent paying job (at least for now). I can’t imagine what it would be like for a single mother or a family that brings home far less per year than we do…and I’m only talking about the financial costs of having children. There are other costs that while far more difficult to quantify can be very expensive.

When it comes to issues of reproductive health and pregnancy, the rights of the woman (and any family she may already have) are not any business of the government (or by extension Christians). Any decisions related to her pregnancy, it’s course or termination are between that woman and her doctor. No one else.

On a related note, it’s appalling to me that there are so many in our country who claim the mantle of pro-life and yet seek to destroy any help out there for women whether that be in matters related to birth control or through programs like WIC, child care subsidies, and other so called “entitlements.” When that woman is pregnant and the fetus still developing, the fetus is the most precious thing to pro-life individuals, but they appear to care less once that child is no longer in utero.

This contradiction is inexcusable.

Next time: Issues of history and governance

Comments are closed.