Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

On not doing the dishes

My apologies for the post that was pushed out yesterday rather unfinished. I can’t say as I’m sure what happened, but I suspect it was one of those instances where I had the best idea and needed to get it written down post haste lest the words flew from me never to return. I’m going to get back to that post…eventually. More than likely it will make an appearance next week around the same time.

It’s all part of my grand plan for generally freaking out the dyed-in-the-wool Evangelicals and otherwise fundamentalists that began subscribing to my blog as of late…and for reasons I have yet to figure out. Don’t get me wrong, I know I have a great many people of faith who follow along with me and it really does take all kinds, but usually when I follow links back it turns out we have some sort of commonality like vegetable gardening or sustainability (all things I was really good at back before #3 came into being). These last few are even more puzzling and about the best I can figure is that they’re praying for my salvation from the apostasy and/or generally heresy they feel is found within my blog pages. Really, I’m only half kidding.

Tonight I’m on the hunt for cookbooks. Something like simple farmhouse food or vintage-y sorts of food stuffs. Recipes written before the dawn of the processed food industry created “recipes” – you know, the kind that pretty much require six or seven processed food packages dumped together in a bowl, mixed with water, and displayed in a fancy dish topped with a hydrogenated oil like whipped substance and maraschino cherries. Not that there’s anything wrong with maraschino cherries.

Yes, yes. I know I’ve already declared that I’ve given up on cooking. My husband, rather forlornly, asked the other day if I’d ever go back to cooking again. I get the feeling his acceptance of what passes for a meal around here these days is temporary. I wasn’t sure what to tell him, but I don’t think even he is patient enough to wait until the children go off to college.

Then again, I’ve recently taken to paying my children to help out around the house (dishes, vacuuming, etc) and maybe there really is a light at the end of the tunnel because I haven’t really done the dishes at all in the last couple of days and it isn’t because I’m just letting them pile up in the sink. Either that or it’s because old habits die hard. I’ll let you know which one it is when I figure it out.

Comments are closed.