Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Expanding Our Musical Horizons – aka The Playlist for Today

While I was reading the September issue of Yoga Journal, I came across an article about Garth Stevenson’s new release, “Flying.” I had visited iTunes to listen to a few of the tracks when the kids appeared to listen along. My oldest let me know that several of the songs were his “favorite” and could we please see if we could buy them somewhere?

This sent us down several rabbit trails of exploration as we established a new playlist for our day. We’ve listened to this several times so far both as the kids play and as they have headed to bed. We’re listening to:
Krishna Das – “Devi Puja
Falu & Gaurav Shah – “Shanti
Kira Willey – “Namaste Song
Richard Marlow & the Choir of Trinity College, Cambridge – “Ave Maria, D.839
Garth Stevenson – “Dark Red
Yoga Music for Kids – “Bedtime Routine 1

It’s a nice change for a week that’s been far too stressful.  The three-year-old’s answer to everything is to cry and whine.  The six-year-old needs to pick on the three-year old which only leads to more crying and whining.  And the baby?  She’s taken to biting, hitting, and pulling the hair of the three-year-old plus lying on the floor when she doesn’t get her way.  Leading to…yes, you guessed it, more crying and whining.  It’s like one big long tantrum from the moment they awaken until the moment they go to bed.  I’m thinking a new soundtrack for our day fits the bill quite nicely.

Next up?  A lesson in Namaste ala the “Namaste Song” by Kira Willey:

The light in me sees the light in you
The light in me sees the light in you
I honor you as you honor me
Namaste, Namaste, Namaste

The light in me sees the light in you
The light in me sees the light in you
I honor you as you honor me
Namaste, Namaste, Namaste

All while I repeat my mantra softly to myself, “Om Shanti, Shanti, Shanti.” I could use a little bit of the peace that passes understanding right now.

Comments are closed.