Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

The Universe according to Moby

I love the teachings of Christ, but the universe is 15 billion years old and complicated beyond anything I can understand….I do not for a minute think that I’m right about anything. Maybe we die and go to heaven, and a guy with a long white beard sits in judgement of us, but I doubt it.

I have a feeling that the universe is more forgiving and loving than we have traditionally, culturally, given it credit for. If God ended up being petty and angry, it’d be so sad. If you are God and you understand how everything in the universe works, why would you judge these poor, stumbling, shortsighted humans who are just blindly trying to figure out how to stay alive from one day to the next?

From Yoga Journal, September 2011

Comments are closed.