Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

The end of the season

2 Comments

I was standing at the kitchen counter this evening, elbow deep in my freezer roulette meal preparation, and listening to “Simply Folk” on WPR when a song about swimming came on. I was pleasantly singing along to the song when it dawned on me…today was the last day for the city pools. Today! Really?

I believe a four letter word slipped out. I had plans to get the kids to the wading pool one more time before the end of the season, but I could have sworn I had more time.

Is it really the 28th? It can’t be that late in the month, can it?

When we first moved here the pool was open another week. I remember being there with my oldest, when he was an only child, and my husband was driving back and forth to Madison for work. It was Labor Day weekend and we swam every day of the weekend just to soak summer in to the very last.

I suppose next year we’ll be lucky if any of the pools are open – or still owned by the public.

2 thoughts on “The end of the season

  1. One of my sisters lives in Vt. in an area hard hit by the hurricane. They are without water due to broken mains and I read that their water system is owned by a private company. Can you imagine water being privatized? Gives me the willies to think about it, and helps me to keep fighting here in Wisconsin again such things. Can’t believe it’s the end of August. We have had gorgeous weather and hardly any mosquitoes because it is so dry. A perfectly lovely summer. Seems rather typical that pools close long before we’re ready.

    • I know that water is often privatized in third-world countries and other struggling locations *and* that this often to the detriment of the people. There are a few resources I linked to regarding water privatization in a unit we did on toilets last year as well as this post on World Water Week which includes a few posts I made back in 2009 if you’re interested in reading more about it. Disgusting stuff.

      The kids have forgotten about the wading pool with our recent membership to the YMCA. I don’t know if we’ll be able to continue it once my husband’s contract runs out, but it will be fun while it lasts!

      Fall is definitely reminding me these days that it’s just around the corner!