Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Hello October!

We welcomed in the Autumn by heading to our favorite apple orchard on the Equinox. The weather since then has seesawed from warm to cold and back again. While I hate to say goodbye to the warm sun, there is a part of me that welcomes this change in season and all that typically entails.

We’ll be working our way towards Halloween in the coming weeks. I picked up a couple of foam craft kits in the dollar section at Target for the kids so that they can make a decoration for their dressers. I also let them pick out a few books at the library to read at home. The library even had “Only a Witch Can Fly” by Alison McGhee. My husband saw it at the apple orchard last week and will be tickled that I found it.

From there we’ll be working on costumes for the older two – prince and princess respectively. My oldest really wants to be a bat (as in the animal), but I don’t know that I have the imagination (or the money) to make that a possibility. True, all I’d really need is a mask/hat of some sort and the wings (with some interfacing in there to stiffen it up and some elastic to make them wearable), but I don’t know that I can come up with that one on my own. The crowns and capes for a prince and princess seem so much more doable.

The kids also have made their requests known for baked goods. The oldest would like to make finger shaped cookies with a pan he saw at Target and the Brown Eyed Girl would like to make Halloween gingerbread houses. I’m hoping I can distract them with something a bit simpler, but no less fun.

Then there’s the Day of the Dead service at the UU Church I’ve always wanted to go to, but haven’t had the opportunity as well as one at the local, but much smaller UU Church.  I have yet to plan our family celebration.

On the education front – we’ll be continuing in our studies with math, grammar, writing, spelling, handwriting, and phonics.  We’re still working our way through the unit on the solar system and will be getting started with our study of the Ancients.

For myself, I’ll be starting to work my way through the Bhagavad Gita as well as getting my toes wet in Norse and Celtic goddess and Ganesh mythology.  Although that last one is more a family project.  The kids loved the story of Hanuman and I think they’ll find Ganesh equally so.  If I have time I’d like to work in the Yoga Sutras, but I’m almost positive that would be biting off more than I can chew.

Next weekend my husband is officiating at the wedding ceremony of my cousin.  He was ordained online and will be performing a secular ceremony.  How’s that for a 180?

Lots of things on the to do list – this will be a busy fall!

Comments are closed.