Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

The Unease of Waiting

If you’re not a parent or a parent of an only, I’m not sure that I can quite explain the unease that comes with waiting…to see if all the rest of the family will remain healthy.  It’s unnerving and makes me do crazy things that I would not normally do – like buy bleach wipes and anti-bacterial soap.  I also run probabilities.  If we go x number of hours or days or weeks and no one else is sick, what’s the chance that we’ll be in the clear?

Last year?  I was in the market for a hazmat suit.

I’m countering that with homemade chicken soup with lots of garlic, onions, ginger, and thyme.  I figure that more than makes up for the insanity sick children inspire.  At least that’s the hope.

Comments are closed.