Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

My Reading List for Winter

I’m currently reading a few books as you can probably gather from the “On the Bookshelf” list over on the right hand side of your screen.  At the top of the list is Kathryn Stockett’s new book.  I had to request it from the library and there are a number of folks on the list after me meaning I’ve got one shot to get it read, no renewals.

After that, seeing as I’ve already read the entire Harry Potter series (more than once), I thought I’d make up for missing Banned Books Week this year by working my way through the 2010-2011 Challenged/Banned Books List and creating a bit of a long-term project for it.  Along the way I thought I’d posted a brief summary of the challenges to each book as well as a review of my own.  I’ve created a tab up above on “The Banned Book Project” to help you follow along with the added bonus that I’ll be better organized as well.  Win-win, right?

There are three books on the list that I will be skipping this time around, not because I agree that they are worthy of challenge or being banned, but rather because I’m a homeschooling mom and there are only so many hours of lucidity leftover at the end of the day.

#24 – The Koran – This one is probably not a surprising entry on the 2010-2011 banned books list.  It’s been burned by a certain fundie and had a great many things said about it since 2001.  The idea seems to be that this particular faith’s text is somehow more dangerous than another’s with the sort of fervent denial commonplace amongst fundies of many stripes.  Having already been raised in another Abrahamic religion, it’s just not going to happen this year.  It’s going on my “someday” mental shelf.

#27 – “What’s Happening to My Body?  A Book for Boys:  A Growing-up Guide for Parents & Sons” by Lynda Madaras and Dane Saavedra – This falls in the “ZOMG!  Sex!” category.  It was banned in 2011 from school libraries in Texas (I know, shocker!) because of a parent’s complaint.  It includes definitions of rape, incest, sexual assault, and intercourse.

After having read my share of reviews on books over at Amazon that cover Sex Ed topics, I’d say the general gist of these sorts of challenges are that factual, acurate definitions and, you know, knowledge, is very dangerous.  As if somehow by refusing as a parent (or a member of our society) to ever speak these sorts of things out loud, children and teens will remain chaste and “innocent” (whatever that means).

Seeing as I’m not a boy I thought I’d be fairly safe in skipping this one.  Being the mother of a grade school boy, however, my book of choice for this stage in our life is “It’s So Amazing!:  A Book About Eggs, Sperm, Birth, Babies, and Families” by Robie Harris which has its fair share of negative reviews on Amazon that also fall in the “ZOMG!  Sex!” category.

#38 – “Pit Bulls and Tenacious Guard Dogs” by Carl Semencic – This one was removed from a library because it contained information on restricted dog breeds (as part of a local government’s ban).  This one falls in the “you can’t know this, it’s top secret” category as if banning or removing the book is somehow going to prevent…stuff.

I don’t have a pit bull (or a dog for that matter) so I doubt I could sustain interest beyond the first few pages.

Next time?  The kids and I read “My Mom’s Having a Baby” by Dori Hillestad Butler (again).

 

Comments are closed.