Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

So Long Turbo Tax

I’ve been working on my tax return and was using TurboTax as is my custom, except this time I couldn’t get the online software to update a field no matter what I did.  I figured it wasn’t a big deal, but I wanted to be sure so I contacted technical support through their online chat feature (which took me a good 10 minutes of searching just to find).

This takes forever, and by the time the representative responds to my question they begin with “Quite honestly, ma’am” and finish in a way that gives me the not so subtle impression that the customer service representative feels I am wasting their time.  I mention this to them and get a lukewarm, “Oh, no, we’re glad to answer any question you may have.”  I clarify my question and wait.  And wait.  And wait.

At this point it dawns on me, why on earth am I doing this?  Why am I waiting for someone to answer a question when they “Quite honestly, ma’am” think I’m wasting their time.  I closed the chat and signed out of TurboTax.  Being as I’m still waiting on miscellany, I decide to explore my online tax preparation options.  The cost to file both State and Federal with TurboTax?  More than $60.  The cost to file with TaxAct?  $17.95 for the same results I got with TurboTax minus the condescension.

Much like with my auto/home insurance company, I’ve elected not to stay with a company that can’t seem to find time for me.  It may not seem like a big deal to you, oh underpaid employee of the mega corporation, but seeing as I very seldom contact customer service (or in the case of my former insurance company, need to file a claim for which I am not at fault) I kind of expect that when I do, someone will be responsive to my needs.

TurboTax did send me one of those impersonal surveys asking me how I felt about my recent attempt to contact their customer service.  While I didn’t know for sure at the time that I would no longer be using TurboTax, I did let them know that I would, in not so many words, recommend them to others when hell freezes over.

Comments are closed.