Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Strawberry Shortcake Waffles – A Recipe

8 Comments

After hinting about strawberry shortcakes for dinner, I decided to see what Google had to say about strawberry shortcakes in waffle form.  Mostly?  I was a little baffled.  Do people really use that much sugar?

When I’m thinking about strawberry shortcakes in waffle form, I want something that hints, no, winks at the desert without full on embracing it in a make out session.  This pretty much disqualified everything that came up – not to mention laughs in the face of a certain yum-o-like-chef’s recipe that calls for a box of pound cake mix to start.

Yeah.

In the end I started with a recipe from Heather Likes Food with the intention of ending up with something a bit less like desert and a bit more like breakfast dinner.  You would have to with a recipe that calls for 1 cup of sugar for only 4-5 waffles.  Egads, my dear Heather.

I suspect that if I had left the recipe as it was written, it may have turned out reasonably waffle like.  I found, though, that I had much better results by adding in additional liquid.  This resulted in a waffle that spread in the waffle iron much more completely and was a great deal less…dry.

I must tell you, my husband has declared these the best waffles he has ever eaten.  I had gone into the kitchen the morning after to find a piece for a morning nosh only to discover that there wasn’t a crumb left.  I asked my son if he had eaten them which is when my husband must have heard it and let us know.  From across the house.  He yelled from the other side of the house…you’ve got to know they’re really that good.

I’m flirting with a few changes to the recipe including separating the egg yolks from the egg whites and folding the whites in at the end.  Unlike my usual base waffle recipe (I’ll have to share that one another day), this is not a quick and easy meal.  It will require some work on your part – it calls for the stand mixer for goodness sakes.  So plan it for a leisurely meal complete with bacon and a cup of the most fabulous coffee you can find.  I guarantee it’s worth it.

Strawberry Shortcake Waffles
inspired by Heather Likes Food

Ingredients

1/2 cup butter, softened
1/4 cup plus 2T sugar
3 eggs
1/2 cup sour cream or plain yogurt
1t vanilla
1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2t baking soda
1/4t salt
1/2-1 cup buttermilk

Directions:

  1. While the recipe is not overly time-consuming it is a bit more so than your standard waffle.   Preheat your waffle iron right now anyway.  It’s not going to hurt anything and that way you won’t forget (I know I would).  While you’re at it get your eggs out of the fridge so that they can warm up.  Do the same with your buttermilk and sour cream (pour it into your measuring cups first, though).
  2. Sift together flour, baking soda, and salt in a separate bowl.
  3. In the bowl of your mixer, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add eggs one at a time, mixing completely after each addition.  Don’t forget to scrape down the sides of your bowl periodically.
  4. Add in the sour cream and vanilla and mix again until it is completely incorporated.
  5. Add in the flour mixture, alternating with the buttermilk.  You’re aiming for a cupcake/muffin batter consistency.  Be careful not to overmix.  Some lumps are better than none.
  6. Spray your waffle iron with a bit of non-stick spray.  Add in about 1/3-1/2 cup of batter.  Close the lid and cook until done.  In my waffle iron this is 5 minutes, but yours may vary.  Be sure to check your manufacturer’s directions.
  7. Remove from waffle iron when done and top with strawberries and slightly sweetened whipped cream.

When I make strawberry shortcakes, I like strawberries that are slightly sweetened with just the hint of sugar (no more than a tablespoon or so for a pound).  This macerates the berries ever so slightly and creates the most wonderful liquid to seep into every nook and cranny of your shortcake.

Also, for the whipped cream?  Whip with just the slightest splash of maple syrup – it complements both the cream and the strawberries nicely.  If you want to go all out, whip up the cream by hand.  I suppose only I’d be crazy enough to do this, but I think the whipped cream tastes that much better when you do it.  It’s probably all in my head, but at least it’s a good workout.

Notice the amount of sugar (not) used in this recipe?  Let’s not overwhelm the strawberries, folks.  Less in this case really is more.  You’ll have a greater appreciation for the strawberry’s natural flavor, which, let’s face it, is really what strawberry shortcake should be all about.

The next challenge?  The apple cider donut waffle or cinnamon and sugar donut waffle.  Donut waffle…hmmm….

8 thoughts on “Strawberry Shortcake Waffles – A Recipe

  1. whipped cream with a splash of maple syrup is a genius idea~! will have to try it out next time we bake something.. come check out our food blog – https://www.facebook.com/NeedleandFork

    • Thanks! Necessity is the mother of invention as they say. I tend to forget to add the tiny bit of sweetener before the cream is mostly whipped and this way I don’t have to worry about the sugar crystals dissolving. :0)

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I think you forgot to invite Dad and I for dessert.

  3. Pingback: Merry Solstice « Under the Maple Canopy