Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

In a Stitch Quilting

3 Comments

Would you mind if I took a moment to shamelessly plug my mom?

I figured not.

I remember the first quilting class my mom took way back when.  She’d pack up her machine, fabrics, notions, and things and head downtown to the local MATC office where she learned the ins and outs of quilting.  It was like she caught a bug.  She had passion, and it showed.

It’s always been a hobby of hers, one that sometimes took a back seat to feeding her children and keeping us all on track.  She was a bookkeeper first and a quilter second.

Quilting, though, has always been the perfect fit as it utilizes her almost superhuman attention to detail (this quality was one that drove me nuts when I was growing up).  Growing up with my mom, everything was just so.  She’s got the eye for it.  Need to pick out colors for a project?  Hang a picture (and want it to be level)?  Decorate your kitchen with a collection of vintage things?  Just need someone to tell you if these things “go?”  She’s the person you want to call.  She can sense these things.  She knows it without a moment’s hesitation.  It’s innate – as if it wells up from some creative spring inside her.

We’re all grown up now, my siblings and I.  We’re married, some of us have children, and she has the chance to strike out and do something new.  She’s a quilter and an artist first.  It’s kind of like coming home to oneself – finally able to do the thing that you’re really passionate about without first having to defer to more baser needs (like food, shelter, and sanity).  Take a risk.  Be daring.

She has a new business called In a Stitch Quilting. She has a blog where she shares some of the things she’s quilting and the things she loves.  She also has a longarm quilting machine.  She’d love to be your quilter – help you finish the project you’ve started so that the care and effort you’ve put into it shines right straight through to it’s completion.  Know someone who needs some quilting done (or need to have your quilting project finished)?  Stop by her website and drop her a note.  She’d love to hear from you.

3 thoughts on “In a Stitch Quilting

  1. You are so sweet. Thank you honey.

  2. Reblogged this on In A Stitch Quilting and commented:
    I watched my oldest daughter from the day she was born until now blossom into a beautiful woman, wonderful mother and wife as well as a highly intelligent, caring, creative individual. I am immensly proud of her and everything that she represents.

    I was so surprised when she set aside space on her blog to honor me. What a wonderful expression of love.

    Thank you Jenny for all that you do for me.