Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Weather Unit, Part Deux

While I prefer to have things planned in advance, this time I’m a bit behind.  I was about three lessons into the demonstrations from our main spine when I decided that I really needed to supplement things a bit.  It didn’t seem like it was enough nor as systematic as I typically like to do things.  What can I say?  I can’t leave well enough alone.

The first post was basically a resource dump.  From those resources and my rough sketch, I’m working on laying out the specifics of what we’ll be doing each day.  I’m hoping to get caught up a bit these next few nights because I also need to finish fleshing out the geology portion (the early earth, plate tectonics, volcanoes, the rock cycle, rocks, minerals, soil, etc) of The Summer of Earth Science.  Thankfully the fall trimester’s work is already planned out.

The last few nights I’ve been a bit on the antsy side so there’s still quite a bit for me to finish.  Tonight I’m celebrating the fact that I have tomorrows plans done.  Small victory and not much comfort given the HUGE stack of books that I’ve had to hide from the kids so that they don’t end up spread from one end of the house to the other.  I hate to do that, but I’ll never get my plans done if I let the kids have free reign.

Any-whooos-it…I’m sticking all of our plans on a page up at the top called “Current Unit” so that it doesn’t get lost.  I’ll try to remember to post an update on the blog as I get more of it done.

Comments are closed.