Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

WIP Wednesday: Colorado Projects Galore

2 Comments

So, I’m reading my Mom’s blog and seeing all the finished projects and carefully listed projects she has in the works. I began to feel a bit sheepish. I have UFOs (unfinished objects) around here somewhere…They’ve become buried by the things I need to file in my administrative assistant to myself as the CFO of our family role plus the artwork and portfolio stuff for my teacher’s assistant to myself role.

We won’t speak of the pile of books that need to be repaired in my library assistant to myself role. Nor the “I have no idea why that’s sitting on my cutting table” bits of things that seem to breed and accumulate – mostly by the “assistance” of my children.

Did I mention the “I’m in the middle of planning this” book pile? Or the “this color printer doesn’t have any ink, the scanner function doesn’t work, but I can’t really bring myself to part ways with it” large paperweight sitting on the corner of what is supposed to be my sewing table.

It’s kind of depressing.

If only I had an actual assistant. You know, one that isn’t actually me at the same time? Oh, the things I could accomplish!

A Quilter's Corner with Cindy Anderson

My Colorado daughter just left after visiting with us over a 16 day period.  During her visit we primarily busied ourselves with activities focused around fabric.  At all hours of the day, if you stood outside my sewing room and listened, you would have heard the gentle hum of conversation blended with the whirr of my sewing machine.

Pictured below is a photo of our first project in progress.  This fabric was destined for a casserole dish cozy.  Unfortunately I can’t show you what the finished product looked like because I forgot to take a picture.

Next in line were two sets of Pot Pinchers from Vanilla House Designs.  We picked up this pattern while shopping at Life’s A Stitch Quilt Shoppe in Janesville.  My daughter just couldn’t resist buying it.  At first I thought they looked a little tricky but they were super easy.  So easy that my daughter, whom has very…

View original post 815 more words

2 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Colorado Projects Galore

  1. Been there, done that! They do grow up eventually. . . 🙂