Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Day Two – The Artist’s Way

1 Comment

I’ve been hemming and hawing about going back to school for a while now.  Part of me felt like it was the only option.  I had a practical career picked out.  It’s something I think I could be good at and wouldn’t hate.  Then we needed to replace a car.  So here I am.  For the next six years we’re going to continue as we have before.

After that?  Who knows, but at that point one of my kids is going to be a teenager and that kind of scares the shit out of me.

Instead I’ve decided to try to leverage my interests in some way.  I don’t really know where this path will head, but I’m hoping it will end up in…something.  Maybe something I can get monetary payment for?  Probably not, but I still think it will be illuminating.

Regardless, step one was actually cracking open Julia Cameron’s “The Artist’s Way.”

I am my own worst critic.  Seriously, I don’t need external critics (and can’t really think of any from my past) because I’ve got that covered all by my lonesome.  For reals.  Mostly?  I need a process to move past that.  I need to get out of my own way and I’m hoping Julia Cameron can help me do that.

So far?  Not too bad.  Ask me again in ten weeks.

One thought on “Day Two – The Artist’s Way

  1. Pingback: Bringing Vision to Light | Under the Maple Canopy