Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

$175 – Coming Up Short

3 Comments

The amount stolen from my family this year:

$50 – LP tank for the gas grill, stolen off the grill sitting in my yard
$125 – Cash stolen from my husband

Oh, citizens of Janesville, Beloit, and Rock County, I get it. I really do. Times are tough down here.

Everyone’s struggling. I feel for you…I do.

What I don’t get? Taking something that doesn’t belong to you.

You hungry? I would have welcomed you at my table. You need gas for your car? I could have helped you get to where you need to go? Need a roof over your head? I’d be glad to help you find a place to stay.

My husband works far too hard to come home short on what he earned with his own life force. We do our part. We’ll gladly pay taxes and fight for social safety nets and governments that help make sure we live in a society where we all get an equal shot.  I own up to my mistakes and pay the price for my bad choices like a responsible adult.

But stealing? You took from my kids, plain and simple. There isn’t anything I can respect in that.

3 thoughts on “$175 – Coming Up Short