Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Gaining Courage

7 Comments

Tomatoes and peppers *not* from this year because there is no garden and we’re in a drought. I just thought they looked pretty.

I’m supposed to be going to a gathering of local Derfs this evening. My free babysitters were all out of town so the husband took off of work to watch our kidlets because I don’t even know the name of a babysitter.

Last night I looked up the restaurant online and printed off a map from Google Maps. I even took a look at the street view so that I had a better feel for its location. Well, that and because it would feel more familiar to me that way which I thought might help me in the actual going part.

See, I’ll drop my kids off anywhere and encourage them to head out with reckless abandon to introduce themselves to other kids, to play with other kids at the park, or to have a blast at some new class. But when it comes to me? If I have to go somewhere by myself without my husband as safety net I get all kerfuffled.

I may still chicken out.

On the other hand the husband is threatening to drive me there himself which would definitely inconvenience him and the kids. Not to mention the fact that it’s a little silly for all five of us to go when I can drive by myself perfectly fine. My husband, he plays dirty.

Susan Cain (of “Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking“) would say to go, to step out of my comfort zone and stretch into new areas. As an aside, I love her book. There’s a part of me that thought it was kind of silly to read a book about introverts given that I’ve lived my entire life as one, but it’s been both enjoyable and a learning experience.

And really? If Mrs. G can travel all over the country with a large painting of a cat, what’s one night’s dinner?

7 thoughts on “Gaining Courage

  1. Go have fun! 🙂

  2. Oh, GO!!! And I think Green Girl in Wisconsin (Melissa) will likely be there. I wish I could go. Do it for me! No, do it for you. 🙂

  3. You did go! And it was a pleasure to see you!
    (I apologize in retrospect for the fact that for me, my introversion leads to severe anxious extroversion when I’m with new people.) You were gracious and lovely and it’s magnificent you came.
    Now I have a new blog to add to my reading list. Yippee!

    • It was a blast meeting you! I would have never guessed you were anything other than an extrovert. You wear it well. :0) Maybe we’ll all get together sometime again.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  4. I’m so glad I got to meet you–just spent some time reading your older stuff–we didn’t get into politics last night, but I loved seeing how we’re cut of the same cloth in that camp! (Holy mixed metaphors there!)

    • I’m a big fan of the mixed metaphor. So much more original! :0) It was good to meet you. On the one hand I’m glad we didn’t get to politics last night because it can be so…incendiary these days. On the other hand, I’ve met some of the most wonderful folks (some of whom happen to be bloggers) through politics in the last couple of years. Thanks for stopping by!