Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Who Me?

13 Comments

Yesterday was full of all sorts of crafty goodness.  I put a quilting project aside for some paper piecing (which is awesome and perfectly suited for a person like myself).  I also moved some papers around, threw some things out, and managed to avoid filing.  How awesome is that?

You want to know what else is awesome (and I use this multiple times on purpose in a non-W way)?  Blog awards that remind me of Spencerian Script.

Seriously.

That was when handwriting was handwriting.  They practiced (and practiced) in regimented ways and ended up with something that I can only dream of doing.

No, really.  Have you seen my handwriting?

Where was I?  Ah, yes, blog award.

Thalassa over at Musings of a Kitchen Witch has graciously bestowed upon me this here “Very Inspiring Blogger Award.” I don’t know who followed who first, but (obviously) the feeling is mutual.  She’s a pagan and fellow pantheist who has her pagan-y act together and there’s much to admire in that.  It’s probably a good thing we’ve never met in person because she’s horribly allergic to cats and I have two furry friends.

The “rules” of the award are as follows:

1.  Display the award certificate on your website.
2.  Announce your win with a post and include a link to whoever presented your award.
3.  Present 7 awards to deserving bloggers.  Create a post linking to them and drop them a comment to tip them off.
4.  Post 7 interesting facts about yourself.

I’m passing the award along to the following bloggers because they’ve got something special going on:

The Adventures of the Hengens – who haven’t blogged in several weeks, but told the story of their family’s journey in a RV moving from Alaska to North Carolina.  I’ve never met them personally, but there was a tiny part of me that had wished they had taken me along!

Ka-chow! – whose picture of Buckingham Fountain made me miss Chicago something fierce.  He has this amazing ability to catch the light in a portrait just right which my wedding photographer ten years ago couldn’t have done to save his own life.  The tiny photographer inside my dreams would be thrilled to be half as talented as Srini is.

The Unorthodox Epicure – who mixes profound life lessons and food.  He even includes recipes and decent pictures to match (these two abilities – food and photography – do not always reside within the same person).

Tethered Butterfly – She’s a mom and a runner and she homeschools.  Not sure when she has time to breathe.

Ashley @ Thirsty Babies – who hasn’t blogged in a while, but who is big on encouragement and has crazy talent.  Be sure to check out her Etsy Store (One in the Hand), too!

Melody @ Little Home Blessings – I think I found her on Mothering’s message boards, but I could be mistaken.  She is creative as in it wells up from inside of her.  Like amazingly creative and she manages to do so humbly and with a graciousness that doesn’t make me feel like I’m a complete and utter failure like so many Waldorf-inspired blogs are prone to do.  She and her husband also have a level of perseverance that I find admirable beyond measure.

Cindy @ Glowing in the Dark – My mom, of course.  She’s never afraid to try something new and always willing to help out.  She’d give you anything not nailed down if you asked or had need.  She even started her own quilting business.  She’s got passion and guts in spades.

This doesn’t even begin to scratch the surface of bloggers I find most inspiring though as it neglects to mention folks like Mrs. G (who has a little blog I like to call “Things that Keep Me Sane”), Linda (who gardens like I would if I liked gardening), Melanie (where I first learned that there is such a thing as an Atheist Pagan and I love her for that), or Siri (who lives in Norway, blogs infrequently, and won me over with her Norwegian cookies) to name just a few.

Seven interesting facts about yourself:

  1. I used to work for the folks who sold the official merchandise for the Chicago Marathon (this was years ago and not as glamorous as it may seem).
  2. My favorite colors to wear and decorate my house are blue and green, but if asked what my favorite color is my answer is always purple.
  3. I’m thankful that my nursing necklace from Mommy Necklaces is stylish enough to pass off as a real grown up accessory even though I’m no longer nursing my youngest.  It’s one of two necklaces I own.
  4. I’m sensitive to just about every smell folks pick to wear.  I had to get off the elliptical in the middle of my workout one day because of the smell coming off someone’s freshly laundered workout clothes.  There are very few candles and incense sticks that I can handle without instant headache.  I can also smell if someone is smoking from quite a distance away.  It’s bad enough that my husband likes to quote this movie scene back at me.
  5. I’m too lazy to copy phone numbers from my old cell phone to my new one.
  6. The last best fiction book I read was the Harry Potter series (which isn’t to say that I don’t enjoy “grown up” fiction).  It’s also our favorite read aloud.  I mostly read non-fiction books.
  7. I want to buy Jack Kornfield’s latest book not because of what he’s written, but because of the front cover (though I’m sure I’d also enjoy reading what he wrote).  There’s a part of me that has wondered if I could take the book into the paint store and have them color match the cover so I could buy exterior paint for my house.

So there you have it.  Thank you again to Thalassa at Musings of a Kitchen Witch.  It was a wonderful surprise and an honor!

13 thoughts on “Who Me?

  1. This is super cool. You actually inspired me to post again! http://thirstybabies.blogspot.com/2012/07/apparently-i-rock-and-im-not-alone.html

    I’m going to check out all those blogs.

    • :0) I’m glad to hear you think so. You never really know when you send these sorts of things. Oh, and welcome back to blogging!

  2. Your little write up was so kind. Thank you. I’m sitting here at the end of a very rough day and your words mean a lot to me just now.

  3. You are awesome! Thank you!

  4. That was so sweet of you!! I really appreciate the award, thanks a lot 🙂

  5. Congratulations! You certainly deserve it. 🙂

  6. That was so sweet of you..I was away from blogging for quite some time. When I opened my blog today, this was a sweet surprise for me..Thank you once again :)..

  7. Pingback: Happy October! « Under the Maple Canopy