Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Thinking in Progress

8 Comments

I’m inordinately thrilled with these two blocks made from the batik fat quarters I got at JoAnn’s for less than $1 a piece.  I was thinking of either a square (3 rows of 3 blocks each) or a rectangle (2 rows of 3 blocks each) to make a wall hanging.

When editing the picture I decided to try out Pic Monkey’s Museum Matte frame which got me to thinking that maybe I’d play around with the borders around the blocks with a black and white combo – wider white borders directly around it and then a thin black border on top of that (or maybe just bind it in black?).  A close second would be to frame them in a dark grey like Kona’s Pepper, Charcoal, or Black. I think the dark color would really make the colors pop.

Or maybe just white?

I’m definitely not going to be the one to quilt this one.  Nope.  No way.  For that I’ll be begging the owner of In A Stitch Quilting to help me out.  Pretty please?

Then again, she’s my mom so there probably won’t be any begging involved.

8 thoughts on “Thinking in Progress

  1. Ooo, that is lovely!!

  2. Absolutely, positively, gorgeous! Love it, love it, love it!

  3. Pingback: More Spam Hilarity | Under the Maple Canopy

  4. Pingback: The Thursday Afternoon Craft Report « Under the Maple Canopy

  5. Pingback: Work in Progress Wednesday – First week in November « Under the Maple Canopy

  6. Pingback: It’s WiP Wednesday! « Under the Maple Canopy