Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

About Dinner…

4 Comments

Yesterday, I asked what was for dinner and a couple of folks responded with some very tasty sounding dishes.

Judy was having pork loin on the grill.  I had kind of forgotten about pork or at least about the kind of pork that didn’t come in the ground or otherwise manipulated form.  I’ve been drooling over the King Arthur Flour catalog with their boiled cider and the accompanying apple pie recipe, but I’ve read where folks use the boiled cider on pork and ham and other tasty things.  If I ever do bite the bullet and buy some, I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Emily probably has more allergies and sensitivities than you can shake a stick at, but doesn’t let that ruin her sense of food adventure nor her creativity.  She has an autumn dinner that sounds fantastic!  Vegan, gluten-free, and tasty.

As for us?  Last night we had pumpkin waffles (heavily modified, but generally based upon this recipe) with sausage links.  I don’t think the girls were big fans, but my son single-handedly ate most of them (this is what happens post-soccer game).  Tonight we’re having Mashed Potatoes with Chicken Noodles.

I know what you’re thinking, WTF?  Mashed potatoes and noodles?  Isn’t there enough starch in either one of those things alone?  The short answer is “Yes” and “Of course, you’re right.”  However, it’s the husband’s thing.  They apparently ate it every Thanksgiving when he was growing up and he made it a few times for my family, but let’s just say it never really caught on because, really, mashed potatoes and noodles?

We were going to have chicken and dumplings from “The Colonial Williamsburg Tavern Cookbook” (a very thoughtful gift from my parents), but then I saw egg noodles at Aldi that promise they are “Authentic German Swabian Egg Noodles” (no idea what that means) and so here we are.  Every once in a while I like to do something nice for the husband.  In this case, I think serving the dish once every ten years is sufficient, right?

After that it’s on to the weekday stuff, although Monday is technically a weekend for the husband.  We’re going to have our Autumn Equinox family dinner complete with a few stories from Greek mythology and time together as a family.  We missed on the Harvest Festival at Circle Sanctuary yesterday which is kind of a bummer being the second year in a row that this has happened.  I’m holding out hope for next year, but I’ll settle for a tasty dinner with my family members instead.  Monday morning is also the tea party we’re having with Nana at my daughter’s request which means I’ve got to get my act together if I’m going to get the kitchen cleaned, cranberry bread baked, and an apple pie made.  Probably not in that order.

I haven’t made a pie since, um, two years ago.  Is there a goddess of pie crust?  She and I might have to have a chat.

The rest of the week is pretty mundane with things like tacos, macaroni and cheese (for the kids and the husband since I’ll be gone), and spaghetti.  I’m filing away some of the inspiration I’ve gotten so far to help me plan next week’s menu, but I’m always open to more inspiration.  Please do share or I might have to start pulling up the church cookbooks I got from my Grandma and we know what happened last time I was flipping through things – Mormon Muffins.

4 thoughts on “About Dinner…

  1. My sister always jokes about the Italian restaurant she once went to in Madison that served potatoes with pasta. Frankly, I love any kind of potatoes or pasta and can easily imagine them both on my plate. I make a mac and cheese where I add broccoli florets that I’ve briefly dropped in boiling water to the basic mac concoction. Then I top it with buttered breadcrumbs and sliced tomatoes. Looks pretty and I manage to make myself eat some veggies while I am gorging on mac and cheese.

    • Macaroni and cheese with broccoli is something I can get behind. Starch plus cruciferous vegetables is completely acceptable, imo. I can even get behind the bread crumbs on top (though I prefer to leave them off). Starch plus starch (plus more starch is just overkill. The husband was lamenting the missing crescent roll to go with it. Crescent roll! It may not surprise you, but the man ate very few vegetables before he met me. If there’s one thing I’m proud of (aside from getting rid of the sweater vests and turtlenecks his mom had bought for him), it’s that as of today he’s never met a vegetable he didn’t like.

      The chicken and noodles I made ended up super tasty (and I added vegetables to them), but even the husband agreed that the mashed potatoes really were superfluous. I have consented to making them again sans potatoes.

  2. I’m glad you liked my post and totally inspired me to write about more than just my equinox dinner. Pumpkin waffles sound amazing and now I have to add them to my plans. I’m getting a waffle iron next weekend. Yum! I hope your dinner tomorrow is wonderful.

    • Oh, waffles! There was a brief moment where I considered making a different kind of waffles every week for a year, but then after the third or fourth week of waffles I gave up. I am looking forward to pumpkin pecan and gingerbread this fall/winter, though. :0)