Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

The Beginning of Fall

2 Comments

Fall has been a very busy so far (all four full days of it).

There were:

Tea parties with Nana.  Cranberry-Orange Bread with a simple orange juice and powdered sugar glaze (needed to bake longer) on pretty Depression Glass plates and small tea cups for the young ladies.  It was clear, based upon the rousing success of this party that there will be more in the future and that we’ll need a few more tea cups, a creamer, and a covered sugar dish.  Oh, and a three-tier stand, tiny silverware, and a few more cloth tea napkins.  I feel the flea market calling my name, but that will have to wait until next year.

Close on the heels of our morning tea party was our family Autumn Equinox dinner complete with stuffed acorn squash, bacon brussels sprouts, apple pie, and a Pinot Noir from Five Rivers for the adults.  We also read the story of Demeter and Persephone.

The girls and I were back at my Grandma’s house this week to pick up a few dishes and check out the toys to make sure we didn’t leave anything behind.  Aunt L was also there sorting through Grandma’s clothes and shoes.  She sent the girls home with some shoes and a few purses.  Little did I know that the sound of too big heels would be filling my every waking moment.  Clip, clop, clip, clop.  Across the floor upstairs and down the sidewalk on the way to somewhere big.  Clip, clop, clip, clop, clip.

Last, but certainly not least, or at least the last thing I have a picture of, are new-found treasures finding new homes.  This little rocking chair was caned by my Grandma many moons ago.  My Aunt L has the newspaper clipping to prove it.  This is one of many pieces of furniture that have made it to our house and the second of the small rocking chairs.  Miss L also picked up a cabinet suitable for her very own dresser and I picked up a rustic table that’s become another seasonal space in the house to hold all of our treasured pieces.  That doesn’t even include the card table and chair set that came home and will mean we can have guests over for dinner and provide them with a place to sit!

We had to find homes for some of the new glassware which meant a set of storage containers for my empty canning jars and getting rid of a few of the things I was holding on to for no particular reason.  Finding a new home for my Grandma’s pretty bowls seemed like a sufficient reason.

Oh, and the new Mumford & Sons album.  Did I mention that?

iTunes messed up and I paid for it twice (grumble, grumble, grumble), but shhh, let’s just enjoy the music.

2 thoughts on “The Beginning of Fall

  1. LOVE the rocking chair!

  2. Pingback: The Thursday Afternoon Craft Report « Under the Maple Canopy