Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

The Thursday Afternoon Craft Report

14 Comments

All of the normal folks use Wednesdays to post about their projects, but I’ve never been a very good conformist (or all that conscious of what day it is) so I’m going with Thursday.

In the interests of full disclosure, this first picture is terrible.  I’m envious of people who have rooms on the first floor of the building with windows.  Or maybe light fixtures that work?  At any point in time I’d say only 1/3 of the fluorescent lights work in my “studio.” I had 2/3 of them working a few months ago thanks to YouTube and new bulbs, but now I’m thinking it might be something more complicated like the ballast and I haven’t googled it just yet.


I hung up one of those flannel backed tablecloths over my sewing desk recently for a “design wall.”  Design side towards the wall (obviously) and the perfect use for a homebirth leftover.  On the left are my batik squares.  Since the last time I showed them I’ve only made one more.  I’m not feeling it right now so they sit there until I feel inspired.  On the right side is the beginning of a lap quilt for myself.  It seemed much larger when I first lay them out, but now that I look at it I’m thinking I’ll add in borders between each of the rows.  Either that or I’ll pick up another charm pack (or two).  On the plus side, my lines all pretty much line up and when they don’t they look like it from afar.  Now that’s progress!


This one’s just waiting on the binding.  I decided to do it the “right” way and not try to machine stitch it all at once.  This means I need to hand-stitch and I hate doing that so there it sits.  It’s a free paper piece pattern from monkey beans and the big paisley print in the middle is from a home decor thing (table runner?) that I got as the wrapping on a gift.  One of these days I’ll get around to finishing it.


Another free paper piece pattern.  I had envisioned a larger wall hanging, but got bored so it’s a mini-quilt.  I skipped the binding step and went with the fold the backing over to the front technique.  I appreciate not doing binding (and hand-stitching), but I need to find a better way of doing this.  I’d do it again for a wall hanging, but not for a lap quilt or anything that would get use.  I couldn’t stand the idea of quilting over the top of the square so I just did straight lines on the edge so that the piecing would shine.  Oh, and the schmutz on it?  No idea.  It annoys me, though and now it can you.


Another SewHooked free paper piece pattern.  This one I made from scraps from a quilted project I made last year.  I was going to take a picture of that to go with this one, but then it’s on the table under stuff and while I love all of you dear readers, I don’t know if I like you that much.  For the record, though, I don’t love anyone else enough to unpile it to show them.  Not even my Mom.  Nope, she got to see a small corner that wasn’t otherwise covered.  So.  There’s that.  I would have loved a wall hanging of this on a larger scale, but again, I used scraps so a mini-quilt it was!

The best thing about these sorts of quilts?  Super quick and easy to finish!

There was another paper piece quilt I made earlier this summer – well, two actually, but believe you me they’ll never see the light of day.


Title?  Umm, fabric? It’s famous fabric, though.  You should head on over to my Mom’s blog to read the story on this fabric.  Still have no idea how we did that.  I’ve got a charm pack of solids to go along with it so it’ll be something, but not until I finish something else.


A small corner of “Still Life with Crows” with the background fabric I finally settled on.  Maybe it’s too traditional?  I’m going to stick with it, though.  I’ve done the easy part and now it’s on hold until I figure out the quilting.  There’s quite a bit of negative space in this quilt and I want that to play a big role.  I like quilts that use the negative space in a powerful way.  I just need to get what I see in my mind (or maybe feel?) onto paper so that when I send it off to the quilter she’ll know what I want.  I had wanted to get this one done to hang on the wall this fall, but next fall is looking more likely.

Not a quilt, but still crafty.  Hand dipped leaves (in beeswax) and felt figures representing Persephone and Demeter.  See the pomegranate in the background?  They appeared on the table for the Equinox celebration and will stay there for another couple of weeks.  At that point I’ll change things up as we get ready for Samhain.  Samhain is fast becoming my favorite holiday, though the Winter Solstice still edges it out slightly and oh, Imbloc is in there too, but that has more to do with my love of the stories/lore surrounding Brigid.  For Samhain we start with the standard secular Halloween activities following a big to-do the next day with the five of us.  We used to take the day off homeschooling to do it, but the kid is in school so we’re going to do what other minority religions do and take him out of school.  Yay! to the First Amendment.  I’d like to put a bigger focus on remember our ancestors this year (we’ll see how that goes) and one day I’d like to be able to invite other people (maybe family?) along to celebrate with us.  I think it’d be nice to be able to share stories of those who’ve already passed on and keep family history alive.

One day.

I don’t typically get decorations on the table during the light half of the year, unfortunately, but I do have the dark half covered.  I’m not thrilled about the colder weather, but there’s just something about this time of year that makes me want to decorate things.

So…there you have it, the Thursday Afternoon Craft Report!

14 thoughts on “The Thursday Afternoon Craft Report

  1. Your pictures are awesome. I especially love the bird houses on the ironing board. The ironing board cover is a Perfect backdrop. Oh and something else, I love all of your quilts, small, medium and large, finished and unfinished!

  2. Quite the afternoon if I might say!

  3. Pingback: What A Riot!!!! « In A Stitch Quilting

  4. Love your photos and love the use of the old style borders! Very creative!

  5. I absolutely love the yellows. The crows are neat, as well.

    Thank you,

    Naia.

    • The yellow does give a nice pop of color, doesn’t it?

      • Aye. That it does. I recently did a black and yellow lap quilt and gave it away. I fell in love with it and bought a bunch more black and yellow. I’m waiting for inspiration on what to do with it – I don’t want to do exactly the same thing again.

        Thank you,

        Naia.

  6. Pingback: Happy October! « Under the Maple Canopy

  7. Pingback: Work in Progress Wednesday « Under the Maple Canopy

  8. Pingback: Work in Progress Wednesday (Halloween Edition) « Under the Maple Canopy

  9. Pingback: It’s WiP Wednesday! « Under the Maple Canopy