Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Happy October!

7 Comments

So, October, huh?

Can you believe it?

Me neither.

Big things are happening this month, though.  And next month.  And the month after that.  And the one after that.  Oh, and definitely the one after that.  By the time all of that is done we’ll be well into the new year with all of the promises we usually make to ourselves to not get too bogged down in living life to not notice life.

…But I’m getting ahead of myself.  October.  Fall.  Apples.  Pumpkins.  Candy.  Samhain.

Let’s start at the beginning.  Today is Monday, October 1st which means the beginning of things like:

NaBloWriMo – One month, thirty one posts.  That seems simple enough and I’m hoping it might help me better able to wrap my head around  NaNoWriMo because at this point I feel a wimp out coming on.  I should have stuck with camp, but, well, yeah.  On the other hand, I have no plans for the month of what I’m going to blog and I feel a bit like “Oh, dear,” or maybe “Oh, bother.”  According to the directions (and y’all who read here regularly know how great I am with following directions), I’m suppose to do a “Who Am I” post, but that seems like overkill.  So who I am can be found above in the About post.  For the longer version there’s always the “On Walking Away” post which is long and maybe a bit silly.

I’m also a former homeschooler, liberal, pantheist, universalist, humanist, neo-pagan with kids and a husband and two cats that I like to call my little furry Republicans after reading S.M. Stirling’s “Dies the Fire.”  I sew, quilt, take pictures, and otherwise muddle around semi-creatively.

Samhain Sirens

Today also marks the beginning of the Samhain’s Sirens blog, which is pretty cool and for me marks the beginning of the coming holiday season.  With Halloween, Samhain, Thanksgiving, Yule, New Year’s, and then Imbloc on the horizon, it’s really more excitement than my rather reserved self can contain!  Thankfully, the Sirens will help me ease into the season so that I don’t become a peak too sooner –

I’m still trying to decide if I have enough gumption to participate in The Bewitching Home party over at The Witch of Howling Creek. It’s definitely tempting.

Halloween
On a quilting related note, there’s Whims and Fancies’ Halloween Paper Pieced Blog Hop.  I’ll be living vicariously through other people’s blog posts for this one, though, since I’m furiously ferreting away all of my spare pennies to save up for the husband’s dog.

Oh, yes, dog.  Did I mention this dog yet?  We’re one of 60-some people on the rescue’s waiting list so we decided to go the puppy route and went with a breeder a little ways north of where we live who has a couple of litters of American Golden Retrievers going home around Samhain time – something I don’t think I could have planned if I tried.

Last, but certainly not least for today, there will be a small giveaway on this here blog in honor of my four-year (!) blogiversary at the end of the month.  Four years – the most significant amount of time I’ve spent doing any one thing (aside from parenting or being married).  Ever.

So, Happy October to you and yours!  I can hardly wait!

Coming up tomorrow?  Lemon Loaf!

7 thoughts on “Happy October!

  1. I think a post a day would be fun.

  2. Looking forward to reading them. Happy October to you too!

  3. I’m always looking for new books to read and that description sure piqued my interest. Little furry republicans?

    • That’s what one of the characters in the book calls the cats. I’ve got a book review for it coming up tomorrow that might give you a better picture as I’d recommend it with a few caveats.