Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

To Read is to Live

10 Comments

We’re HUGE Potterphiles around here.  I’ve read through the series more than a few times, my husband’s read the series, I’ve read the series to the kids, and members of our family have watched some or all of the movies more than once.

Some homeschoolers caution against reading the books aloud to your children because they reason that then they won’t want to read them on their own when they’re able and you’d be stealing their joy.  I never paid that much mind.  Hogwash!  Read a book just once?  Any book worth reading is worth reading at least a couple of times.

Usually.

Well, ha on them!  Mr. J, my second grader, announced around the time that he was starting public school this year that he’d like to read the first book on his own.  Now he’s read the first book, the second book, and the first bit of the third book.

In four weeks.

Ladies and gentlemen, I am proud to announce that the kid takes after me – both in speed of reading and love for reading things multiple times!  Yes!  Woot!  Hooray!  *does crazy happy dance*

Ahem….

Sorry.

It’s just that when I first met my husband he announced that he didn’t like to read.  My jaw dropped and I couldn’t believe it.  Not like to read?  I may have stared at him blankly or perhaps like I thought he had three heads or announced that the sky was purple.  Or green.  Books, stories, poetry, it’s like breathing.  Growing up, I’d spend hours reading until I could finish a 200 or more page book in one sitting and then kept going.  I questioned our relationship a little right there.

Just after Mr. J was born we moved to Minnesota into this small-ish apartment.  One income and graduate school meant we decided to go without cable which meant we didn’t get any tv channels…at all.  The husband looked at me and asked what it was that we were going to do after the kid went to bed.  Uh, read a book?  I didn’t take “I don’t like reading” for an answer and explained that perhaps, just maybe, it wasn’t that he didn’t like reading, but rather that he didn’t like what he was reading.  Big difference.  Now?  He reads slower than molasses on a winter’s day, but at least he’s found his books.

Right up until I taught my kid to read, encouraging my husband to find his kind of book was one of my biggest accomplishments.  Just call me the ambassador of books.  I’ve done it to my husband, my son, and while my daughters can’t read on their own, they too love stories of all kinds.  Don’t believe me?  Just ask the folks at the YMCA’s Childwatch or any visitor to my house.

Like breathing.

I think my work here is done.

10 thoughts on “To Read is to Live

  1. I have read voraciously all my life. I’m trying to instill that same sense of wonder of reading in my boys. Any good book is worth reading twice or more.

    Thank you,

    Naia.

  2. I remember a teacher in 7th grade telling my mom that she thought I read too much. I think she meant I needed to socialize more. I don’t think you can read too much. And nothing is better than re-reading an old favorite.

    • That’s entirely possible (on the socialization part, that is). There’s been a shift over the years in education to prize extroverts over introverts (the first being the norm and the latter being the “problem”) so I suspect your hunch would be right. And no, I don’t think you can read too much. :0)