Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Tuesday Sweet – Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

8 Comments

 

I’ve been drooling over a new set of cookie scoops from King Arthur Flour for quite some time.  I have one lonely scoop that I got from Pampered Chef when I was a consultant and it’s…large.  All of the cookies I make in this house qualify as “jumbo” cookies – not that my family complains any, but one of these days we’re going to have normal cookies which I hope means cookies will last longer around here.

Then again, maybe not.

I adore cookies with cranberries in them which seems odd given my passionate hatred for the dried cranberry’s close cousin, the raisin.  Raisins are a tasty snack food all in their own right, although maybe a bit too sweet for my taste.  Add them to cinnamon bread for your breakfast or with celery and peanut butter?  Yum!  Raisins in curry are also quite wonderful (or Nava Atlas’ pineapple rice salad), but in my baked goods?  Raisins in carrot cake is a fine way to ruin an otherwise wonderful cake and don’t even get me started on oatmeal raisin cookies.

But cranberries?  Cranberries and white chocolate.  Cranberries and oatmeal.  Cranberries and orange.  Cranberries and walnuts.  Cranberries, white chocolate, and macadamia nuts.  So many wonderful choices and so little time.

This recipe began in my head as a cranberry, white chocolate chip cookie.  Unfortunately, anything that passes as a “white chocolate chip” in the store is not actually white chocolate.  They’re all full of palm oil, sugar, and flavorings.  Even my beloved Ghiradelli fools you with their “Classic White Baking Chips” and if you’re in a hurry, you’ll miss the fact that nary a bit of cocoa butter is listed on the ingredient label.  Seeing as white chocolate is in essence cocoa butter plus some milk solids and sugar, this seems a misnomer.

What’s a baking mom to do?  Substitute with dark chocolate chips, of course!

I think I got this one perfect on my first try and it has become my new favorite with its crunchy edges and soft middle without being overly doughy.  The cranberries have a nice bite to cut the sweetness just a bit, and the combination of the oatmeal, butter, and walnuts gives it a nice buttery, toasty, flavor.  Yum!

This tasty cookie is pictured on my new favorite saucer that goes with my new teacup which was a very special gift from my Mom.

Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Yield: Varies, depending on size of cookie scoop

Ingredients

2 sticks of butter, softened

1/2 cup dark brown sugar

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 cups rolled oats

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

2/3 cup of dried cranberries

2/3 cup (or three handfuls) dark chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375°.
  2. Whisk together flour, salt, and baking soda in a separate bowl.
  3. Cream butter and sugar.  Add vanilla extract and eggs one at a time, allowing each to combine fully before adding in the next.
  4. Mix oats and walnuts in with the creamed butter mixture.
  5. Add in flour and mix to combine.
  6. Add cranberries and chocolate chips and give a quick mix so that they are well-distributed.
  7. Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls on an ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake for 11-14 minutes.  Cool on wire rack.
8 thoughts on “Tuesday Sweet – Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Yummy, yummy! I’m going to print out this recipe and try it for myself. I will let you know how it goes.

  2. BTW, your photo is awesome.

  3. Yum!!! I will have to try this. I am not a big fan of raisins either and I substitute cranberries all the time. 🙂