Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Done This Week

7 Comments

When we last left my grey and yellow quilt, I was contemplating what to do with it.  Cut it up?  Move forward?  Because, really, what do you do when you spend all that time making something and end up hating it?  I went the cut it up route.  I have made some progress, but have let it sit over the last couple of weeks.  Being an inch deep, mile wide sort of person, this is typical for me.

In the meantime, I had a much more urgent project to get done.  The other week, when we were getting read to go to our Family Dharma class, my youngest, Miss Boo, realized for the first time that she was the only one of the three who did not have a scarf of her own to wear.  In my defense, up until this point she didn’t really need one.  She wasn’t old enough just yet to require such a cold weather accessory.

I promised her that I would make her a “darf” of her very own.  I took her to my favorite yarn store, The Dragonfly Yarn Shop, and let her pick out her own Malabrigo Merino Worsted.  She went with the Kettle Dyed #148, Hollyhock.  Just slightly over one evening later, she was the proud owner of her very own “Gentle Waves” scarf.


I haven’t crocheted since last year around this time, so it felt good to work with a hook and yummy yarn!

7 thoughts on “Done This Week

  1. Ooh, I love the color. Beautiful!

    • Thank you! At first I wasn’t so sure about the color, but then as I was working my way through the project, I could see it was going to be beautiful. I just finished a hat in the same colorway to go with the scarf and I love it even more. I just finished it late this afternoon so I’ll have to post it next week.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I think the color as well as the pattern make for a splendid “darf”. I can’t wait to see them in person and espceially on the very special person that ordered them. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Crafty Wearables « Under the Maple Canopy