Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Washing Woolies

4 Comments

When I was at the yarn store the other day, I picked up a bottle of Eucalan woolwash.  I have washed many a wool diaper cover in my day (crocheted by moi, of course), but I have yet to wash any of the kids’ wool outerwear.  Given how prone my children are to getting dirty (read here: very or maybe better stated like magnets), this is not a good thing.  I picked up the grapefruit scented one, but in reading through their website I probably should have gone with either lavender or eucalyptus as both are moth inhibitors.

While washing a couple of sinks of hats and scarves I couldn’t help but hear Mary Thienes-Schunemann’s voice in the back of my head singing “Washin’ Woolies.”  Her soprano voice grates on my nerves like nobody’s business.  I sometimes wonder what I was thinking when I bought “This is the Way We Wash-a-Day” back in my Waldorf-curious phase.  No, really, what was I thinking?


Undershirts and leggings,
Scarves and mittens too,
We’re washin’ all our woolies ’til they look like new.

Aside from a few hats my Mom has made the kids, the only knitted item I’ve made is a scarf for Mr. J from last year (the blue one on the bottom of the above picture).  It was fun to knit, but in looking over both scarves when washing them, I actually prefer the crocheted ones because they seem a great deal sturdier.  I did find a small hole in the knit scarf that was super quick to repair thanks to the tiniest crochet hook I have ever seen.  I have no idea what one uses such a small hook for as it was one of the many things I got from my Grandma’s house recently, but fixing a scarf seems like a perfectly acceptable use.

We’re washin’ woolies,
Wooly woolies.

The purple hat is one of two berry hats my Mom made Miss L not too long ago.  There’s an adorable red one that’s missing in this batch of woolens.  It’s gone missing right along with Miss M’s brand new “darf.”  I don’t know how she lost it so quickly.  In spite of her knack for loosing things, I had sort of figured even she wouldn’t be able to lose something so quickly.  It may not surprise you, but Miss M was also the last person to have the red berry hat in her possession.  I’ve looked for them, but have come up empty.  Who knows where the little booger had them last.

What we really need is the husband.  The man can find anything.  This is a damn good thing seeing as I’d probably lose my head if it wasn’t attached to my body.  Unfortunately, my finder is also working buku hours at the moment.  Hopefully when he’s “off” work he’ll get a chance to call up a search party and go on the hunt for our missing items.

Speaking of lost things…I should start a list…

4 thoughts on “Washing Woolies

  1. Leave it to Miss M. She’s quite the character! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Work in Progress Wednesday (Halloween Edition) « Under the Maple Canopy

  3. Pingback: Nernie Did It « Under the Maple Canopy