Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Crafty Wearables

5 Comments

Once the “darf” was finished, Miss M informed me that she needed a “bidder hat” to go with it.  For once I actually purchased more yarn than I needed for a project which just meant that I needed to find a pattern.  When I’ve made hats in the past I’ve always used a Skater Beanie pattern I found for free on Ravelry.  The pattern is simple, but the math behind it means you get the perfect size every single time.  It’s a bit plain, though, and a Miss M’s scarf needed something girly to go with it.

This “Vintage Inspired Scallop Hat” (also from Ravelry) seemed like the perfect fit.  The pattern is really very simple (although you need to be mindful of the final repeat just before the join).  I actually made two hats because I thought the first one was too big.  I finished up the second hat on Thursday last week.  When we were done, Miss M and I made a second trip to the yarn store to pick out the grey for the flower.  For the record, purple and grey is my new favorite color combination.   I think this hat is perfect.  Miss M is adorable wearing it, and were it not for the fact that I really want a pair of fingerless gloves, I think I’d make myself a hat with the opposite color combination (grey with purple).


Two pairs of fingerless gloves of my own design – albeit a very, very simple one.  They’re a bit…square, but warm and that seems to me to be the most important thing.  I could have aimed for a fashion accessory and I did for a brief moment while searching Ravelry.  In the end, functionality and warmth win out.  These were super fast to work up in half-double crochet which ultimately is my favorite stitch for winter wear.  Nowhere near as cute as Miss M’s stuff, though.

Today also marks the 25th day of NaBloWriMo and it seems like the month has passed us by in the blink of an eye.  Can you believe it?  The kids are all off school tomorrow which will be the first time in a long time that we’ve all been off at the same time.  We’re going to be heading off to the apple orchard tomorrow – how about you?

5 thoughts on “Crafty Wearables

  1. I’ll take one!

  2. Pingback: WiP Wednesday – After Thanksgiving Edition « Under the Maple Canopy