Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Remus

3 Comments

Meet Remus.

He’s the newest furry member of the family.  The husband has been driving me nuts for months wanting to get a dog.  He’s actually had this desire for a dog for the last three years, but I’ve been successfully postponing him.  I had thought that the cats would be enough, but…well, while they don’t hate him, they view him as a bit of an interloper.

I’ve probably mentioned it before, but the husband had a dog growing up that he had to give up because of the rental house his family was moving into and he never really got over it.  Enter Remus.  He came home on Sunday after a somewhat lengthy journey.  Fantastic lunch, enjoyable afternoon, don’t get me wrong.  It was pleasant and while the breeder is, um, a bit of an odd duck sometimes you just have to go with what you’ve got.  I’m not going to tell you where I got him because I certainly wouldn’t recommend them (I can tell you where I’d probably buy from if I had to do it in the future, though, if you live in the area and want to know).  Hindsight, is as they say a great deal clearer.  In the end, it doesn’t really matter.  He’s here and he seems to be adjusting just fine.

There’s always the question of what route you should take – rescue, humane society, or breeder – and believe me reader, we had considered them all before picking our breeder.  We looked at multiple breeders, looked up reviews, and otherwise over-thought the entire decision.  It’s doubly difficult when you have young children.  Almost no one wants to adopt out to families with kids under 7.  In spite of the extra work (rather akin to having a newborn baby, except this one I didn’t have to carry, birth, or breastfeed), I still think the puppy route was the right one (even if I’m iffy on our breeder on the been there done that scale).

You wouldn’t believe how much energy it takes to be so cute all the time.  Who would have being cute would be such hard work?  For the record, I’m still a cat person, even if they are furry little Republicans.  Still, I think Remus and I are going to get along just fine.

