Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Stash (pt.2)

2 Comments

My “studio” (read here: basement hovel) is a mess on account of the sewing day with my Mom.  That makes it sound like it’s her fault.  It’s not.  I just haven’t gotten things put away just yet.  There’s a part of me that thinks it would be wise to put things away so that my cutting table isn’t piled quite so high.  You know…so that I can cut things.  On the other hand, blogging seems like a much more inevitable (and enjoyable) activity.

It’s a bit like the day I gave up and bought my first pair of “mom” jeans at the Farm & Fleet because, really, who can stomach paying $60 or more for the trendy ones with three children, two cats, a dog, and a husband?  No, they aren’t particularly comfortable (do they really have to cut the waist so high?) nor are they particularly fashionable.  On the other hand, where else can you buy flame resistant jeans, motor oil, and get your lawnmower engine tuned up and blade sharpened all at the same place?  They have fantastic deals on kids clothes, too, by the way.

Inevitable.

I’m also going to ignore the ticking clock in my head that’s the picture calendar I traditionally give for holiday gifts to family members.  I have an embarrassingly small amount of it completed so far.  Oh, my.

Let’s talk about something else, shall we?  What about Junk Drawer?  Not the drawer in my kitchen full of things like outlets, seaweed, and tape.  What?  Don’t tell me you don’t have seaweed in your junk drawer?  No?  Ok, maybe that’s just me.

Don’t worry, I’m talking about the fabric from Cosmo Cricket and Moda called Junk Drawer.  We were at a quilt shop this weekend for their anniversary sale (or something like that) and I picked up these two lovely fat quarters.  The shop isn’t exactly my thing.  They’re more, how shall we say, primitive?  Traditional?  Fantastic store, but only a small fraction of what they sell speaks to me.

Maybe something text-y, number-y?  At this point I was on a roll even if it was from two different Moda collections.  I put back the 30s reproduction little bundle and picked up a few more Moda fat quarters.  No, no plans, just something special for me.

Later in the weekend I had to make a quick run to JoAnn’s for some fabric and a new set of rotary cutter blades.  Why is it that everytime I go in there for new blades, they just happen to be on sale, and the 5 pack is always out of stock?


A few more fat quarters never hurt.  I think I might possibly use one of these for the backing or binding on a wall hanging I’m working on.  You’ll have to wait for WiP Wednesday to find out which one.  Of course, before then I probably really should put thing away.

Yeah, I should get right on that.

2 thoughts on “Stash (pt.2)

  1. I would be proud to be the reason for the the mess because that would mean you got out of the house away from it all and perhaps had some fun. 🙂