Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Folk Music Saturday – “I Believe”

It wasn’t so very long ago that I thought that god existed in specific ways as written down in a collection of writings a few thousand years ago and I marked the way time passed accordingly.

These days, it’s not just the way I mark time that has changed, but the music that is the soundtrack to the season.  This song seems about right for this time of year and I agree, I can’t help but see all of this as so very holy.

I believe in socks and gloves knit out of soft grey wool,
And that there’s a place in heaven for those
Who teach in public school.
And I know I get some things right,
But mostly I’m a fool.

I believe in a good strong cup of ginger tea,
And all these shoots and roots will become a tree.
All I know is I can’t help but see
All of this as so very holy.

This is from Carrie Newcomer’s album called “Everything is Everywhere.”  All profits from this album go to the Interfaith Hunger Initiative.

Comments are closed.