Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

You People Drive Me Nuts

Kate: Hi there. C’est moi.
Concierge: [coolly] Welcome back, Madame, to the Georges V.
Kate: Huh… it’s incredible how you do that. The words come out – “Welcome back” – but the meaning is completely different. What’s the deal, is that a French thing or a concierge thing?
Concierge: As Madame wishes.
Kate: You did it again. Tell me something, because I just… I don’t get it. Do you enjoy being that rude? Because when you do that, it just gets underneath my skin, and it makes me… completely… INSANE! (more here)

I don’t know if the kids and dog conspire, but there are days when it sure seems like it. We’re not going to talk about how I can’t find the receipt for my eye doctor’s visit that I need for the contact lens rebate. Nor will we even talk about my suspicion that paperwork is growing legs and hiding. I just had the receipt and my prescription not that long ago. Are my children shredding things for kicks?

There are so many lines from “French Kiss” that would work well for today…I think that’s what I will call today and every day like it hereafter which henceforth shall be commemorated with early bedtimes and movie night for mom.

Comments are closed.