Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Cookies for Yule – #2 White Beer Cookies

6 Comments

There are a handful of cookies that I make every year without fail.  The others come in and fly by with whatever whim I’m entertaining while making the list.  This cookie is one of the old standbys and if you know my husband, like, at all, then it shouldn’t come as a surprise.

Cookies.

Beer.

Yeah, that about covers it.

IMG_0428Can I just say that these are surprisingly tasty?  I don’t know that you would necessarily expect that when being told that they are a beer cookie, but look at them sitting there all sunshine-y sweet with their orange peel studded frosting and beer-y, hop-y goodness.  They remind me of the sun that’s so noticeably absent this time of year.  The perfect winter solstice cookie.

I have made them with a couple of different kinds of beer, but trust me when I say it really does need to be a white beer.  I’d also suggest not breaking the bank with your choice because one batch of cookies calls for 2 – 16 oz bottles of beer that you reduce down to 1/3 of a cup of liquid.  This year I went back to an old favorite from Blue Moon Brewing Company (yes, yes, big boy masquerading as a craft brewer).  Their Belgian White was made for this recipe.  The citrus and coriander hints already present in the bottle is the perfect match for the citrus and coriander in the recipe.

The recipe’s originally from Food Network, but the ads on Food Network’s website hate my iPad.  Seeing as I never print a recipe anymore, this isn’t a good thing (Are you listening Food Network?).  I’m going to link you to We’re Not Martha’s adaptation instead.  Their recipe format leaves something to be desired, but I can at least see the recipe which is more than I can say of Food Network.

Oh, I should also note that I made the recipe as written.  I know, I know.  You can sit down if you’re feeling light-headed with shock.  It’s perfect just as it is.

Looking for some more traditional winter holiday ideas to go with the perfect winter solstice cookie?  Traditional here meaning pagan, obviously.  You know…the reason for the season…axial tilt and all.  My favorite, hands down, is Christian Rätsch and Claudia Müller-Ebeling’s “Pagan Christmas,” although Dorothy Morrison has some good ideas in “Yule:  A Celebration of Light & Warmth.”  Between the two of them, it’s where I get the inspiration for all of my best holiday ideas, minus some of the more esoteric parts (I like ritual, but I’m not the literal sort when it comes to that kind of thing).

Next up?  I have no idea.  I inadvertently made all of the drop cookies first and left the more labor intensive ones for last.  I predict that the speed of the shipment being sent my way from King Arthur Flour will have an impact on my choice.  In the mean time, I’m off to hide these cookies in the freezer before the husband eats them all.

6 thoughts on “Cookies for Yule – #2 White Beer Cookies

  1. Mmm…I do love Belgian White…and I love cookies. What a magical combination. Do you have any red wine cookie recipes? I think I’d like those, too.

  2. I did have to sit down, and put my head between my knees, and put a cold rag on the back of my head, and breathe into a brown (not white) paper bag. I think I will recover in a bit. Especially if I can eat one of those cookies! Ahhhh . . . there, I think I am getting better! :0)

    • I know(!)…right? I’m glad to see that you have been able to calm yourself, although maybe the hops in the cookies might help? Isn’t hops considered a nervine? (or something like that)

  3. Oh and BTW . . . when I read the title of your post I got all excited. I thought you were going to talk all about the buckets of cookies you were making me! :0)