Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Cookies for Yule – #3 Black Raspberry Linzer

I really can’t imagine what it’s like to lose your child.  I send my kids off to school each weekday believing that they’ll come home in the afternoon just like they always do, racing to the car as fast as their legs will carry them.  My kids are in the same age range and it’s just difficult for me to understand how elementary school children should ever have to worry about the sorts of things that happened yesterday.  So, my kids had cookies for breakfast this morning.  They have no idea what happened yesterday (and won’t because I don’t think they need to know) so they just think that I’ve perhaps lost my mind.  Which cookies?

IMG_0456

These cookies, of course, number three for the season and finished far too late at night.  I used the Linzer Butter Cookies recipe from the King Arthur Flour website because they were just plain vanilla which was a nice counterbalance to the cookies I’ve already made.  It was a difficult choice, though, because as Linda pointed out, she does have a lovely (more traditional) recipe on her blog.  I decided that they’d make the perfect February cookie which will give me plenty of time to buy some heart cookie cutters.  I’ve pinned it so I won’t forget, but really, dear reader, I don’t think you can go wrong with either one.

Finding seedless raspberry jam was next to impossible where I was shopping so we went with black raspberry instead.  Why carry seedless black raspberry and 10 different brands of grape, but not seedless red raspberry?  I’ll be the first to admit that the logic of stocking grocery shelves remains a mystery to me.  I used biscuit cutters from Pampered Chef because they’re the only cookie cutter I have varying sizes for.  Well, that’s not actually true, but at 11pm I wasn’t really enamored with hunting down the snowflake cutters.

If I were more creative, I would have made them look like the ball-shaped ornaments you hang on the tree because that would have been lovely.  Lou thinks they look like suns and I’m thinking you could substitute orange marmalade for the raspberry jam and pull that off nicely.  Whatever yours look like, I think you’ll agree they’re tasty!

Comments are closed.