Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Thank you, Obamacare.

2 Comments

We have, generally speaking, avoided using our health insurance if at all possible because it either didn’t cover things or had bizarre cost sharing arrangements.  Did I mention that for the last few years it’s been one of those supposed “Cadillac” government employee plans?  It’s probably been to our detriment because we could have had that earache checked out before it became a raging ear infection and maybe avoided a visit to Urgent Care (or the ER).

I was looking over our plan documents tonight while I tracked down EOBs for Boo’s UTI and discovered that things are quite a bit different.  Thanks to the PPACA (aka  Obamacare):

  • My health insurance covers a yearly physical for all members of the family and not just children under the age of 4.
  • My health insurance covers routine immunizations for all members of the family (including the necessary boosters) and not just children under the age of 6.
  • My health insurance covers contraception.  Period.
  • My plan documents easier to read.  Instead of digging through 90 pages in order to find the fine print on why something won’t be covered, I can find most everything I need to know in a short little four page handout.

It’s a nice surprise!

2 thoughts on “Thank you, Obamacare.

  1. It shouldn’t be difficult should it?! We were double insured for a bit and nobody wanted to pay for anything.