Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

This Week – The Soup Route

6 Comments

“So, you decided to go the soup route.”

This is not the sort of reaction from the husband that I pictured in response to the week’s meal plan. Is it just me, or does it seem to lack…enthusiasm?

IMG_0903Chalkboard? Meet menu. Menu? Meet chalkboard.

Because sometimes it all about presentation. Suddenly tomato soup and grilled cheese takes on a certain something because it’s pretty in brown, orange, and red. Over the years I’ve experimented with methods of meal planning from color coded rotations to cute little print outs. They all lived on the fridge. In the same spot. The same clip. On the same side. Every week. For years.

You wouldn’t believe how difficult it was for my family to find said meal plan nor the number of questions I would field from everyone (including the husband) on what was for dinner as if it was a great big mystery. *sigh* I’ve long since learned never to underestimate the sheer helplessness my family can display when it comes to meal time so I’m not going to call this the solution to all of our problems, but I’m thinking it will be a lot harder to miss, don’t you think?

For the recipe curious, tonight’s dinner was egg substitute (because it seems to bother Lou’s tummy less), sausage, and chocolate gingerbread waffles. Basically, Martha Stewart meets King Arthur Flour. I also used half whole wheat flour and half AP which I think suits chocolate and gingerbread quite well. They were pillow-y, slightly chewy, and had this hearty sense to them that stood up well to the chocolate and spice. For the record? All future batches of gingerbread anything around here will have cardamom in them. I used to hate cardamom and now I’m wondering how I ever lived with out it.

Whole wheat pastry flour? Try not to sound so surprised. I bought whole wheat pastry flour today for the first time in years. We used to only use whole wheat pastry flour, but then again we also only had one kid and shopped at the co-op. Yeah. We also had less money then. And fewer kids. And no puppy. I think that might have something to do with it. The stuff from the co-op was ok, but it’s nothing like Great River Milling.

As for the other recipes?

The pulled pork is from a little thing that came on the Lea & Perrins bottle. I almost always buy generic, but the husband went shopping that day. He also found the recipe and mentioned it, um, 2700 times. Ok, maybe not that much, but it was clear sooner rather than later was the key. We’re also having rolls with it (Peter Reinhart’s french bread) and goat cheese brownies.

The chili is my recipe and in my not so humble opinion, it the only way to have chili. The only difference these days is that the chili powder is increased to 1T and the paprika to 1t. We serve ours with jasmine rice that I buy from the Asian grocery store in bulk. We used to have it on short grain brown rice which I loved because it had some chew to it, but the husband prefers jasmine so there you have it.

Grilled cheese and tomato soup is just what you think. Bread. Cheese. Condensed soup in a can. Before you judge me too harshly, I’m making the bread from scratch. I haven’t decided between Soulemama’s WHO bread (acoustic version) or Peter Reinhart’s soft sandwich bread, but I’ve got a couple of days yet.

The white bean and kale minestrone is from Cookus Interruptus complete with their serving suggestions (pumpkin muffins and salad). I love me some Cynthia Lair.

The birthday feast is the birthday girl’s interpretation of a Harry Potter feast. In other words, it might still be a work in progress.

The broccoli soup is from Soulemama and I’m going to pair it with Peter Reinhart’s focaccia.

And that, dear reader, is what’s for dinner.

6 thoughts on “This Week – The Soup Route

  1. Hello! And Happy New Year- I think you are the winner of the Whynot Pottery give away . Please email me your mailing address and your choice of which bottle you would like.
    I added you to my blog role of Derfwad family- I hope to check in again. M

    • Happy New Year to you too! :0) I saw the announcement on Heather’s blog about the giveaway and I can’t tell you how excited I was to see my name listed as the winner! I almost never win anything so this is a nice surprise! Thanks so much for your generous giveaway and for stopping by! :0) It’s always nice to connect with other Derfs.

  2. Pingback: Happy New Year! « Under the Maple Canopy

  3. You sound like quite the cook! I don’t think most people appreciate how difficult it can be to get dinner on the table every night–you are so organized. By the way, canned tomato soup and grilled cheese is one of the few dinners that my entire family of eight agreed on–it was always a hit. (and I didn’t make homemade bread!)

    Who’s birthday-yours?

    • I have my moments – maybe grand several months long stretches. I can be kind of over sensitive to the faces made around the dinner table and the resistance to certain dishes. When that happens one too many times I’ll give it all up and we’ll be back to a spaghetti/hot dogs/tacos/chili/pizza rotation. I probably should just grow a thicker skin, though being the only parent home at dinner time (and the one who made the meal, and then does most of the cleaning up) doesn’t help.

      Thank you for your kind words. I think the organization thing is genetic (the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree, so to speak). Grilled cheese and tomato soup is a well loved meal around here. What is it about the combination that so many folks love? I used to make my own (tomato sauce, standard white sauce from “More with Less,” and some All Seasons Salt from Frontier) which really doesn’t take all that much more work, but…what can I say, sometimes the can wins out.

      Sadly, not my birthday yet. It’s a birthday party for my middle child (my oldest daughter) who has a birthday coming up soon. :0)

  4. Pingback: What’s for Dinner – Simple is Best « Under the Maple Canopy