Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Happy New Year!

1 Comment

With everything else going on in our lives (trips, illness, the husband’s crazy work schedule), we decided that a quiet New Years Eve celebration was just what the doctor ordered.  The five of us at home.  Groceries’ chosen meal.  Simple.  Quiet.

Ok, maybe not quiet.  When is anything quiet around here?

Right now I have the inevitable post-holiday clean up to do.  Dishes.  Counters.  Random bits of things that made it down to my cutting table in the office.  Laundry for the week ahead and the return to school for 2/3 of my children.  Hmmm…procrastinate with me, will you?

IMG_0912

I made bread to go with our feast.  The recipe is from Peter Reinhart’s “Artisan Breads Every Day.”  It’s a lean dough (flour, yeast, salt, and water) and I followed the alternate instructions for the blistered crust.  Reader?  It was the best bread I have ever made.  Irregular shaped crumb.  Crispy crust.  Chewy.  Oh my, oh my, oh my.  This is bread you could live on.

I added about a cup and half (or so) of King Arthur Flour’s Sir Lancelot Unbleached Hi-Gluten Flour to the mix.  I have no idea if this was the deciding factor because I have made a decent loaf or two in the past few years.  I’m just wishing they sold it in larger quantities.

IMG_0919Brownies.  I don’t know how much longer I should have cooked this sorry pan of brownies.  We were more than 30 minutes past what the directions said and the were still gooey like they were half-baked.  Tasty, but half-baked.  These were much better the last time we had them.

We finished off the night with the kids’ usual bedtime, a movie for the parents, and my usual bedtime as well.  No ringing in the New Year, toasting, or grand partying, but it was perfect.

Perfect.

One thought on “Happy New Year!

  1. Glad to hear you had a good holiday!